Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

    This is a discussion on Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I wonder if anyone could help, I have recently bought my parents a Sky Wireless Connector so that they can ...

    1. #1
      superpav's Avatar
      superpav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      I wonder if anyone could help, I have recently bought my parents a Sky Wireless Connector so that they can watch the On Demand service but it will not accept the BT Business Hub password. It recognises the router (BTBusinessHub-350) and I know the password is definitely correct as I have connected my phone to it to test.

      I have also been posting in this thread on the Sky Help Forums... Sky Help Forum - On Demand - Wireless connector to router - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      I think there could be a problem connecting a BT Business Hub and Wireless Connector but thought I would ask here first before I return it to Sky.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      It took me three attempts before I could get it to connect to a Virgin Media Hub but it's been rock solid since then.

      I assume you are matching the case when inputting letters using your remote control.
      Do you have access to change the password on the hub? If so, as a temporary measure, you could try simplifying the password to check if that works before returning the adaptor as defective/unfit for purpose.
      Last edited by seawright; 08-11-12 at 07:03 PM.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      superpav (09-11-12)

    5. #3
      Anna Ernsting's Avatar
      Anna Ernsting is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01600
      Broadband ISP: btbroadband option 3
      Router: BT Voyager 2110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      I too have just received my SKY wireless connector and trying to connect to my BT Voyager 2110 router. I am not sure what password to put in as my BT password doesn't work and neither do the other codes on the router. Other devices will connect using the WEP key number. I had a new SKY+ HD box delivered and set up today.. Can anyone help please? SKY help could not. Thanks

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      You should be able to connect using the same wireless code you use on your other wireless devices. In nearly all cases it is a mistake in putting in upper or lower case or numbers which prevents the connection. This is not the easiest thing to do using the Sky remote. Best change the password on your router to something really simple like 'aaaaaaaa' then try to connect. If you do, change the password to a secure one and enter it carefully using the remote. It would be a lot simpler if you could set the device up using a PC, similar to how you set up other wireless bridges. You couldn't do this with the old one, I don't know if it is possible with the new one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      superpav (09-11-12)

    8. #5
      superpav's Avatar
      superpav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      I have just tried simplifying the password but it still doesn't accept it.

    9. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      Are you sure you can receive a wireless signal at the TV? It may be in a black spot.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #7
      superpav's Avatar
      superpav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      It recognises the router (BTBusinessHub-350) so you'd have thought it would be ok. It is only in the next room, less than 10m away from router.

      Looking online I have found several people that have a BT Business Hub with the same problem, so I don't think I am ever going to get this working.

      Someone suggested using this as an alternative, BT Business Direct - Zyxel PLA4201 500Mbps Mini Powerline Ethernet Adaptor Twin Pack (PLA4201-GB0201F) Do you think this would be ok?

    11. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      Homeplugs will nearly always be better than using wireless. They are faster and do not suffer from the same interference which plagues wireless. These are about the cheapest I have seen, go for them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      superpav (09-11-12)

    13. #9
      superpav's Avatar
      superpav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      Great, I will give them a go then! Thank you for your help.

    14. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connector - BT Business Hub

      Remember, they must be plugged direct into a wall socket, they don't work well on an extension.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    15. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      superpav (14-11-12)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION