Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 78
    Like Tree10Likes

    Sky's New Wireless Connector

    This is a discussion on Sky's New Wireless Connector within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Received mine today.....its the old Netgear WG902, looks like they still have old stock. Worth it a one sixth the ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Received mine today.....its the old Netgear WG902, looks like they still have old stock. Worth it a one sixth the price.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      morleymiles's Avatar
      morleymiles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Received mine today.....its the old Netgear WG902, looks like they still have old stock. Worth it a one sixth the price.
      Thanks for reply.Wondered when they would start dispatching as they took money last week.

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      As I reported earlier, received mine this morning and guess what? The dammed thing doesn't work. It is recognised by the ethernet connection but it fails to connect. There is no wireless light showing, so I am guessing that's the problem. I will phone them tomorrow.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      After 45 mins on the phone I finally got this to connect. The chap was very helpful and went through everything with me several times to try to get a result. In the end I had to change the network key on the Sky router back to all capital letters and set it to 8XA as it was becoming a pain to put in my key time after time. When I did this it connected. It was then that I realized that I had been putting all my letter characters in caps when some required lower case.

      After connecting it to the Sky box I disconnected it and connected it to a PC. It picked the network up and connected right away. I have not found a way yet to set it up on a PC without initially setting it on the Sky box as I can't find a way into the GUI. It may be possible, but I ask myself, is it worth it? You can buy a perfectly good USB adapter for about a tenner which will give you full N speed, so if you are thinking about buying this to connect a PC instead of the STB, don't bother. It may be worth it if you have an ethernet TV you want to connect by wireless, but that is about all.

      I managed to get into the GUI eventually, but that was a waste of time too, as all that is accessible is a Firmware upgrade page. Its obviously locked down in much the same way as the Sky routers.
      Last edited by Isitme; 09-10-12 at 08:46 PM. Reason: Added last para.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      morleymiles's Avatar
      morleymiles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Got 2 of the new ones today set up and working fine.
      All I need now is epg update .........older Amstrad

    7. #26
      razord's Avatar
      razord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsmead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by morleymiles View Post
      Got 2 of the new ones today set up and working fine.
      All I need now is epg update .........older Amstrad
      You got the new model?

    8. #27
      morleymiles's Avatar
      morleymiles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Wireless bridge is new one yes
      Box is DRX780

    9. #28
      sparkym5's Avatar
      sparkym5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Ordered mine on Thursday and new wireless 'N' arrived today, sky customer service say that they are now only shipping the 'N' when I placed my ordered.

    10. #29
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen Internet
      Router: TP-Link Deco M5
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      If they are definately shipping the new one might have to get this! A steal at 9.99.

      In theory you should be able to use this with any router and ethernet device right? Or are they only connect to sky routers?

    11. #30
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Good questions. I would hope that it does indeed work with any WiFi router.

      The good thing about the new Wireless connector from Sky is that it has a WPS button. This means that if your router is a proper WiFi N router, then you can connect it using this method.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION