Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 35

    No catch-up service on On Demand

    This is a discussion on No catch-up service on On Demand within the Sky Catch Up TV forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hi - this is my first post here but these forums seem to be very helpful, so I'm hoping someone ...

    1. #1
      alancha's Avatar
      alancha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No catch-up service on On Demand

      Hi - this is my first post here but these forums seem to be very helpful, so I'm hoping someone can advise me on this...

      I have a Sky+HD (DRX890) box and recently attached the Sky wi-fi connector (now good value at 9.99). My main interest was in the catch-up service and was disappointed to find no sign of it in the On Demand section of my EPG.

      A long online chat with Sky wasn't terribly helpful, only telling me that if I didn't have it now it would come via a software update by the end of November.

      However, I'm sceptical. I've read various discussions of others describing a similar situation and I've checked everything that I can think of but not found a solution. In summary:

      In Settings/Network, i see:

      • Local Connection = OK
      • Service Connection = OK

      and the other values appear correct for my local network.


      In Settings/System Details, I have:

      • Model number: R005.053.70.11P
      • Version number: 4f31d2

      According to my research online this is the very latest software level - is this correct?

      On sky.com in My Sky/My Package, under "TV Package Extras", "On Demand" has a green tick.

      I've done a planner rebuild (more than once).

      So I believe I have the latest software, a working connection, On Demand enabled but still when i press the red button to go to On Demand, all I see is a fairly small list of programmes that I don't want under these headings: All/Sky Store/Movies/Entertainment/Docs/Kids/Spots/News/Music. No "Catch-up" as I understand there should be.

      I'd be grateful for any ideas please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Try a forced download if you don't have the On Demand bit?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-d...-hd-boxes.html
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      alancha's Avatar
      alancha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Yes, I wondered about doing that but aren't I already on the latest EPG? I have a "Deleted" tab, my red button is labelled "On Demand" and according to http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...-firmware.html my firmware level R005.053.70.11P was new only a few days ago, so is presumably still the latest?

      Or is there a benefit in going through a forced download, even if there's no later version available?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      No idea why it isn't working then.

      Maybe Scubbie could shed some light?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      alancha (25-10-12)

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      I believe the full Catch Up function is being enabled on 30/10/12. In the On Demand section you should see Showcase/Catch Up/Library/Movies/Sky Store>, not what you are seeing at the moment. You are not in the RoI are you? Catch Up is not available there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      alancha (25-10-12)

    9. #6
      alancha's Avatar
      alancha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Thanks NewsreadeR and Isitme... I'm in the UK, so it's a mystery. Judging by posts on other threads I was rather hoping Scubbie might have some suggestions, as you say.

    10. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Sorry, I was a little busy with a couple of other things there.

      I'm a little confused. Your STB is connected to Internet via your LAN. You say that you aren't getting the 'Catch Up' service. Are you getting any of the 'On Demand' Services though?

      Using your remote control, if you could press <TV Guide> <Red> you should have something similar to the picture below, although some of the material may not be present at the moment in Showcase.

      No catch-up service on On Demand-2012-10-25-13.29.25.jpg

      If this isn't the case, could you let us know specifically what is different please? If possible could you post a picture?

      On thing that I am thinking that perhaps the 'Catch Up' service too needs to be enabled.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #8
      alancha's Avatar
      alancha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Yes - your picture is what I was hoping to see but instead I get this:


      Is enabling the catch-up service something I should, or could have done?

      Many thanks

      (btw, I can't work out how to get an image to display in-line here, so hope you can see it OK).
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails No catch-up service on On Demand-2012-10-25-13.42.22.jpg  

    12. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Have you tried putting the box into Standby then switch off the power, leave it for a few minutes then power up again, give it a few minutes then press the Sky button until it powers up fully. If that does not work, I would try a 'forced download' this may sort it out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Ok, it looks like the Anytime+/On Demand service hasn't yet been enabled on the STB.

      Just to confirm, on the 'Network' page do you get something like this:

      Local Connection - Ok
      Service connection - Ok
      IP Address - 192.168.0.20 {the actual set of numbers is likely to be different}
      DHCP - On

      I know that you mentioned the Local & Service connections already.

      Also could you confirm just how fast your Internet connection is please? The Sky advertising mentions that at least 2mb is required. I know from experience that if my connection is too busy, the STB loses the information and down grades to a similar screen if I access the On Demand services. If I wait until my connection is a little better, it recovers just fine.

      Have you also checked your router too? Apparently some non-Sky ISPs need to be set to 'LLC-Based' instead of 'VC-Based' in order for the Sky service to work.

      If everything else is fine, it may just be that the STB missed the initial signal and you will need to wait up to say 48 hours for it to be received again. It may also be necessary to call Sky and ask them to re-send the signal to enable the service.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      alancha (25-10-12)

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION