Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 35 of 35

    No catch-up service on On Demand

    This is a discussion on No catch-up service on On Demand within the Sky Catch Up TV forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; [QUOTE=Isitme;408186]Do you mean the connection from the box to the phone line, which you should have plugged in if you ...

    1. #31
      bjammin's Avatar
      bjammin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      [QUOTE=Isitme;408186]Do you mean the connection from the box to the phone line, which you should have plugged in if you are in the minimum period?

      Yeah that's the one. If I just have the box connected via ethernet to the sky hub it shows as one of the connections ok whilst the other fails. If the 'phone lead' (the cable that plugs into master socket) is inserted into the back of the box then both connections are ok.

      Its a tad annoying as the wireless connector box would be useless as I still need the wire connecting to the master socket....

      Not at home at moment so can't get screengrab (if I knew how!!)

      Thanks

      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Probably Scubbie will comment but all I can advise is to make sure the ethernet plug is fully inserted. You should hear/feel a slight click when it is properly in.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      Sorry for the delay, been busy elsewhere today.

      Essentially you should be able to access all the On Demand and CUTV whether or not your telephone line is connected to the STB.

      I've always left mine connected to the telephone line anyway. The cable is out of sight and it doesn't add to the telephone bill. Should I order a PPV item it is cheaper this way too.

      Now I have multi-room I need to leave it all connected anyway.

      Are you saying that if you now unplug the telephone line that CUTV vanishes again?

      Could you let us know which firmware you have installed on the STB please? To find this using your Sky remote control press <Services> 0 3 and let us know what the top line (Model Number) and 2nd line (Version Number) both say.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      maldondon's Avatar
      maldondon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01621
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      I may have missed something here - my usual On Demand menu disappeared, did software update on Sky+ box and reset broadband connection all to no avail. Checked all the useful advice and finally rang Sky who told me to power off box, wireless connector and broadband router. Hey presto rebooted and back to normal. Why don't Sky put this on their page?!

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: No catch-up service on On Demand

      I just checked and it is in our FAQ. Phew!

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-d...et-demand.html
      Some people have found it useful to power-cycle the Sky+ STB fully before it managed to connect to the Sky servers...

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION