Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

    This is a discussion on Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There expecting speeds around 30 DL they said I'm guessing that's ok?...

    1. #11
      XForzaForestX's Avatar
      XForzaForestX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

      There expecting speeds around 30 DL they said I'm guessing that's ok?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      787
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

      probably. your prolly on 40/10 due to the length of your line etc. Will just have to wait and see what your sync is. A huawei fttc cab can bring benefits such as G.INP, vectoring for those lucky enough and lower snr db profiles. eci cabs sadly don't bring these benefits.
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6 now Zen ex Sky fibre pro
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats by pi3

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats by pi3

    4. #13
      XForzaForestX's Avatar
      XForzaForestX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

      Would you recommend a router update as I game online and use WiFi on my game console

    5. #14
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      787
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

      sorry answered info to the wrong post!..

      I only use seperates which requires a bit of work. I would wait till you get connected then see what your connection is like before investing.

      very few all in one devices that work with sky fibre..

      a number of seperate devices options available but does require sone config. simplest is probably a sensible vdsl modem only device along with a good Asus router and install merlin on it as this will get it working with sky fibre.
      Last edited by skyeci; 11-04-18 at 09:39 PM.
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6 now Zen ex Sky fibre pro
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats by pi3

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats by pi3

    6. #15
      XForzaForestX's Avatar
      XForzaForestX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

      Was thinking of upgrading to sky q hub if the sr102 can't handle it

    7. #16
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      787
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

      yeap you could. not used one. Worth a go if you can get one foc?
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6 now Zen ex Sky fibre pro
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats by pi3

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats by pi3

    8. #17
      XForzaForestX's Avatar
      XForzaForestX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just upgraded from sky broadband to sky fibre

      Well the switch day has arrived and just lost internet connection on the sr102 does that mean that open reach are at the cab or sky have disconnected it as I'm a sky broadband customer I'm sure they said they wouldn't disconnect me like this

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION