Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Trying to use my own modedm/router

    This is a discussion on Trying to use my own modedm/router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I am on ADSL and also have my own modem/router which works perfectly fine in router mode. The issue ...

    1. #1
      hushcoden's Avatar
      hushcoden is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2017
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Trying to use my own modedm/router

      Hello, I am on ADSL and also have my own modem/router which works perfectly fine in router mode.


      The issue I have is when I try set up the modedm/router in bridge mode as I can't find the right settings to make this working - someone even told me that the only modems capable of working with Sky ADSL in bridge mode are the Draytek ones

      Does anybody know if (in bridge mode) the DSL type should be "LLC/SNAP-Bridging" or "VC/MUX" (as those are the two options I've got whene selecting Bridge Mode) ?

      Also, should I enable VLAN or this is a setting for VDSL only ?

      Thanks.
      Last edited by hushcoden; 16-12-17 at 11:04 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Trying to use my own modedm/router

      What make/model is your own device?
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #3
      hushcoden's Avatar
      hushcoden is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2017
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to use my own modedm/router

      ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A

    5. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Trying to use my own modedm/router

      I reckon that one's a no no.

      Draytek & Billion are the only ones I know that definitely work on ADSL, there are some others, like certain TP-Link devices that will work, with or without a firmware hack on vdsl.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #5
      hushcoden's Avatar
      hushcoden is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2017
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to use my own modedm/router

      Yeah, unfortunately that's what I thought too...

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Trying to use my own modedm/router

      I could be misunderstanding but I don't really understand why you need bridge mode. Are you trying to connect another router? Your modem/router should connect directly to Sky, provided you have the correct settings. For ADSL settings are -

      Username and password. (unlike fibre these must be correct)
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC-Mux
      MTU 1500bytes.

      There is a generic setting which will work on exchanges where O2 had a presence, before getting taken over by Sky, you might want to try that.

      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      Username: install@o2broadband.co.uk
      Password: install
      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      Multiplexing: VC-BASED

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      hushcoden's Avatar
      hushcoden is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2017
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to use my own modedm/router

      Yes, those are the working settings... And yes I've also got another router, a Netgear R7000, which I'd like to fully utilise hence the reason why I am trying to understand why the combination doesn't work when I set the ZyXEL in bridge mode...

      And I am afraid marjohn56 is right when he says that only Draytek & Billions modems are able to work on Sky ADSL in bridge mode... but never mind... I will switch to VDSL in a couple of months and I should be able to do the set up I want.

      Thanks.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION