Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

    This is a discussion on Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; deleted...

    1. #1
      rickster245's Avatar
      rickster245 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: N/A
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      deleted
      Last edited by rickster245; 07-09-18 at 04:42 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      Also I am not quite sure why my Line Attenuation keeps increasing from 39.0 to 40.5db. Is this Normal?
      It could suggest you have a fault on your line. You were getting drop outs on your previous post, did you get them sorted out. If DLM has been running for 6 days it does not look like it is going to do much.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      rickster245's Avatar
      rickster245 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: N/A
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      deleted
      Last edited by rickster245; 07-09-18 at 04:42 PM.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      You could call them and ask them to run DLM training again. Tell them you had a faullt on your line which has been fixed in the past few days.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      rickster245's Avatar
      rickster245 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: N/A
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      deleted
      Last edited by rickster245; 07-09-18 at 04:42 PM.

    7. #6
      rickster245's Avatar
      rickster245 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: N/A
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      deleted
      Last edited by rickster245; 07-09-18 at 04:43 PM.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      I wonder if this could indicate that there is a developing problem with your line?

      Is there any work happening in your area at the moment? For example are they installing Fibre, or any other road works?

      Could there perhaps be some underground water getting to your telephone line?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      rickster245's Avatar
      rickster245 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: N/A
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      deleted
      Last edited by rickster245; 07-09-18 at 04:43 PM.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      The trunk cable that BTO uses for copper cable carries up to 10 telephone lines, or at least it does for the type used where I live. I found that out after someone decided to cut through the cable a few years back. This may explain why why there are two poles near where you live.

      The Line Attenuation gets higher depending on the length of the telephone line and the type of line used.

      I am wondering if there has been some damage to your line that is now causing this problem. It is possible and BTO are unlikely to admit it to anyone outside the company. Without knowing the specifics about the damage to your Fibre cabinet and what has happened inside the Green Street Cabinet that your line goes through, it is hard to guess.

      The obvious things, such as noise on the line, have already been discussed.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #10
      rickster245's Avatar
      rickster245 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: N/A
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing started again on my Line. What Speeds should I expect?

      deleted
      Last edited by rickster245; 07-09-18 at 04:43 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION