Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Throughput speed?

    This is a discussion on Throughput speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm still going through DLM but currently i have a sync speed of 16.5Mbps and I'm getting a throughput ...

    1. #1
      RamboRab's Avatar
      RamboRab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Central (Glasgow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Throughput speed?

      Hi, I'm still going through DLM but currently i have a sync speed of 16.5Mbps and I'm getting a throughput of 14Mbps. This was tested on SpeedTest.net so I know it's not the most accurate.

      Is this throughput about right for that sync speed? I can never remember how to calculate what the throughput should be!

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Throughput speed?

      Could you please post your current connection stats taken from the router please?

      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      RamboRab's Avatar
      RamboRab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Central (Glasgow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throughput speed?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN MER 184199 636259 0 0 0 15:53:48
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN Up 1579325 490116 103 3 0 112:27:33
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16435 kbps 1204 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.5 dB 11.0 dB
      Noise Margin 6.0 dB 8.8 dB

      This is still under DLM and the line output power has already increased, allowing me to go from 11Mbps to 16.5Mbps whilst keeping the noise margin at 6dB.

      All I want to know is if 14Mbps is an acceptable throughput speed for a 16.5Mbps sync speed?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Throughput speed?

      For throughput you should get 85-90% of the sync speed. That is 13.94-14.76 Mb in your case, so you are well within the limits..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION