Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 44

    Sync speeds and ping during DLM

    This is a discussion on Sync speeds and ping during DLM within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just connected the Sagem due to peer pressure! Stats at present are: Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx ...

    1. #21
      gatecrasher3's Avatar
      gatecrasher3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      I have just connected the Sagem due to peer pressure!

      Stats at present are:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 37277 51947 0 33 41 0:19:23
      LAN Up 54396 40671 0 710 273 0:20:08
      WLAN Up 25973 18792 0 8126 1032 0:16:52
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 dB 14.7 dB
      Noise Margin 9.7 dB 15.7 dB

      Initial differences are that the downstream attenuation is now 43dB as opposed to 39dB which is quite a difference for the worse.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Quote Originally Posted by gatecrasher3 View Post
      ...Initial differences are that the downstream attenuation is now 43dB as opposed to 39dB which is quite a difference for the worse.
      This is true, but we can now clearly see that DLM hasn't yet done much work on your connection.

      You should get a connection speed of between 7-8mb.

      Remember too that different manufacturers use different methods for calculating the Line Attenuation. This could explain the large difference that you had.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #23
      gatecrasher3's Avatar
      gatecrasher3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Should I be concerned about this?

      Your Connection Details

      Line testing is not currently in progress on your telephone line.

      We continually look for ways to improve the quality of your broadband connection. Please check back here for updates.

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      It would do no harm to give Sky a call and ask them if DLM is running. If its not you could ask them to set your speed manually.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      gatecrasher3's Avatar
      gatecrasher3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Apparently it is running until 18/02 although there was no re-sync overnight last night.

      Still no real change.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 152202 188337 0 29 73 10:32:01
      LAN Up 1234429 1163901 0 722 292 10:32:46
      WLAN Up 186776 132159 0 7465 887 10:29:30
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 dB 14.7 dB
      Noise Margin 11.6 dB 15.7 dB


    7. #26
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      The SNR (noise margin) has gone up from where it was before now showing more speed is available. Not a huge jump above the default 7dB but enough to get to 7Mbps I reckon - so long as it doesn't drop
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #27
      gatecrasher3's Avatar
      gatecrasher3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Again no retrain last night. Speed remains slow as below. Downstream attenuation is sitting rock solid at 39 with an SNR of 9.

      Not impressed to be honest and the DLM excuse is fast running out.


    9. #28
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Then you're looking at internal setup issue or line fault. I assume you every stats post has been from the test socket?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      You were connected on the 6th. DLM can take 3 or 4 days to start and you are clearly over this now, so it should have done something by now.

      In you position I would be tempted to give Sky a friendly call and ask someone to manually configure your line. Not everyone in Sky's first line of support has access to the systems to allow them to reconfigure the line, so if they can't help, ask if you can speak to someone who can. If they refuse, hang-up and call again. You may need to make two or three calls.

      Please do post the revised connection stats once this has been done so that we can check that they have correctly adjusted both the downstream and upstream connections.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #30
      gatecrasher3's Avatar
      gatecrasher3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You were connected on the 6th. DLM can take 3 or 4 days to start and you are clearly over this now, so it should have done something by now.

      In you position I would be tempted to give Sky a friendly call and ask someone to manually configure your line. Not everyone in Sky's first line of support has access to the systems to allow them to reconfigure the line, so if they can't help, ask if you can speak to someone who can. If they refuse, hang-up and call again. You may need to make two or three calls.

      Please do post the revised connection stats once this has been done so that we can check that they have correctly adjusted both the downstream and upstream connections.
      Appreciate the help guys.

      The last person I spoke to seemed to think that DLM started on 08/02 which whilst not reflected on My Sky the line re-syncs that would take place in the early hours of each morning would indicate that it was running.

      I am connected directly to the test socket and with an XF-1e micro-filter.

      I will give them a call and see what the situation is. Hopefully as you suggest a manual profile config will sort it all out.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION