Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    OpenDNS with Sky Router

    This is a discussion on OpenDNS with Sky Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This little how-to gives you information on how to use OpenDNS with your sky router without re flashing it. Technician ...

    1. #1
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OpenDNS with Sky Router

      This little how-to gives you information on how to use OpenDNS with your sky router without re flashing it.

      Technician Spot


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router


    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      I think you may find that the new firmware does not allow access to this part of the settings.

      James' Custom Firmware gives you access to this and a few other settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Stroke's Avatar
      Stroke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      Removed as double posted

    6. #5
      Stroke's Avatar
      Stroke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      Hi Guys.
      My first post.
      Sky updated my firmware 28/03/12 from V1.03.87 to V1.04.13. Now I can't remember how to configure router as I had it with V1.03.87. OpenDNS worked fine before the update. Does anyone know what I need to add to netgear.cfg. to get Open DNS working fully. Blogspot link above does not work

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      I don't think the .CFG from the newer firmware shows the DNS servers. You will have to Telnet into the router and apply the following commands-
      Telnet to the router by doing Start->Run then typing telnet 192.168.0.1
      Type the following commands:
      nvram set wan_dns1=208.67.222.222
      nvram set wan_dns2=208.67.220.220
      nvram set wan_fix_dns=1
      Reboot the router

      I am not sure if the new firmware will allow telneting

      The alternate is to try installing James' firmware, but I am not sure if this will work with the new firmware. It may need an update from James
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...s-dg834gt.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION