Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Poor wifi - Want to replace Sky Q hub - Complete Noob - Please Help!

This is a discussion on Poor wifi - Want to replace Sky Q hub - Complete Noob - Please Help! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys & gals, hoping someone can help a complete newbie lol I'm fairly technically proficient, I built and tinker ...

Spoonablehippo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Thanks

Poor wifi - Want to replace Sky Q hub - Complete Noob - Please Help!

Hi guys & gals, hoping someone can help a complete newbie lol

I'm fairly technically proficient, I built and tinker with my own gaming PC etc and love tech & gadgets, but never really got into the "how it all works" on the internet side of things, so please bear with me

I have a Sky Q Hub (ER110) with sky fibre (FTTC).
      But the WiFi is slow and rubbish round certain parts of the house, so looking to replace the Sky Q hub or boost the WiFi.

My configuration is Sky Q Hub, with an Ethernet cable going into a Netgear GS108 Gigabit switch in the upstairs cupboard, which is fed through the house to Ethernet sockets in each room. (This all works perfectly).

My original though was that I could just disable the WiFi on the Sky Q hub, and plug in an Amazon eero WiFi router to one of the Ethernet ports on the back of the Sky Q Hub, as I used to run a similar configuration with an Apple Airport extreme a few years ago.

But after doing some reading, seems that wont work??