Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

    This is a discussion on Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Hope you can help, in a few weeks I am moving to a new build property, where the ...

    1. #1
      tgi's Avatar
      tgi
      tgi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2018
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

      Hi all,


      Hope you can help, in a few weeks I am moving to a new build property, where the site developers have confirmed all properties on the development will have FTTC. This is phase 2 of the development, and all Phase 1 properties (e.g. those that finished being built earlier in the year) - you can order fibre for. ; as does the entirity of the town at present. However, on Openreach's checker / Sky availability / BT availability - it still shows only the non-fibre options as being able to purchase.


      I spoke to an online Sky agent a short while ago, who said that if I order Sky Broadband Unlimited, then register my interest in fibre, it should be moved over onto a fibre plan within 20-25 days - I've never heard of such a thing though??


      I don't mind being without fibre for a month, but don't want to be without it long term. Can anyone help please / advise if they've been in a similar situation?


      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      146Kg's Avatar
      146Kg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

      "all properties on the development will have FTTC." Did you mean FTTP ?
      All that actually says is that they will have a telephone line installed and it will be copper from the cabinet to the property.
      Depends on your point of view as to what constitutes a fibre connection, 100% to the premises or just to the cabinet.
      It should by called "Hybrid" if it is not 100% fibre, but that is an ongoing story/campaign/court case.

    4. #3
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

      Does the address of the property appear in Royal Mail's postcode checker? If not there could be a delay in getting a telephone line installed.

      If the property will be connected to a fibre enabled PCP (street cabinet) then there is no reason why, once a telephone line is installed, you shouldn't be able to get high speed broadband. The only reason that it might take longer than the 20 to 25 days that you have been advised is if the number of new customers exceeds the current capacity of the cabinet leading to a "sold out" situation. In that case it wouldn't be the end of the world but there could be an indeterminate delay while the cabinet capacity is upgraded. You could of course get ADSL while waiting for the upgrade. If that wouldn't be sufficient there is always mobile broadband (depending on coverage) though I wouldn't recommend entering into a long term contract.

    5. #4
      146Kg's Avatar
      146Kg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

      I thought that new build properties were having fibre installed now ?

    6. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

      Quote Originally Posted by 146Kg View Post
      I thought that new build properties were having fibre installed now ?
      Not necessarily.

    7. #6
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,037
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

      Quote Originally Posted by 146Kg View Post
      I thought that new build properties were having fibre installed now ?
      Haha! who told you that.
      A work colleague moved to a new build house last month in a housing estate on the outskirts of a big town of 35 houses and openreach are saying there will be no fibre for at least 18 months.
      They have broadband but its only 10-15mb, if you are on the right side of the estate. Just adequate for what they want for now.
      He foolishly believed the builder who told him full fibre was available.
      Worst still, they have fitted an old sky+ system with sat coax cables round the estate, that becomes redundant as they and many of his neighbours have all gone Sky Q, duh!

    8. #7
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Fibre - New Build Property, Issues - Please Help

      New build around the corner from me that was finished in the last 6 months has 1Gbps fibre everywhere.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION