Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Wired setup help

    This is a discussion on Wired setup help within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Strangely enough it's not too dissimilar to my layout. However I don't use a Q router so no mesh for ...

    1. #11
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 21.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,811
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 144 Times in 135 Posts

      Re: Wired setup help

      Strangely enough it's not too dissimilar to my layout. However I don't use a Q router so no mesh for me. I would do as Kev suggests and turn off the wifi on the Mini, the wired link works perfectly well with the Q units and if you have a network that can support it then do so.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      morton027's Avatar
      morton027 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ipsley Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired setup help

      Thanks I'll give that a shot tomorrow, see if I have any success with it.

    4. #13
      morton027's Avatar
      morton027 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ipsley Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired setup help

      Right, tried switching off the wifi on mini and reconnecting the switch. No luck unfortunately, so I guess the next thing to try is a managed switch?

    5. #14
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Wired setup help

      Quote Originally Posted by morton027 View Post
      Right, tried switching off the wifi on mini and reconnecting the switch. No luck unfortunately, so I guess the next thing to try is a managed switch?
      If you are certain you turned off the wifi then it may just be a faulty switch and you may not need a managed switch just a fully functional one
      Can you borrow one to test ?
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    6. #15
      morton027's Avatar
      morton027 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ipsley Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired setup help

      The mini appeared to be working when wired to the switch, just the kit in the extension that didn't.

    7. #16
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Wired setup help

      time to try a different switch in the extension then and add one piece of equipment at a time to it

      also worth borrowing a cable tester to check you haven't miss wired any of the cables between the switches
      it quiet possible to have a couple of pairs crossed which can create some strange results
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    8. #17
      morton027's Avatar
      morton027 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ipsley Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired setup help

      I've got a cable tester, so will give that a go and see how it looks. It can't be in the long cable as that works when plugged straight into the router.

      Thanks for advice

    9. #18
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Wired setup help

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Strangely enough it's not too dissimilar to my layout. However I don't use a Q router so no mesh for me.
      Even without a Q router the boxes still form a mesh between themselves by wifi and/or ethernet, it's just the hotspot functionality, which runs over the mesh, doesn't work.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION