Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

    This is a discussion on Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, New user here looking for some advice please. I've just upgraded from Sky Unlimited Broadband to Sky Fibre unlimited. ...

    1. #1
      neo_4789's Avatar
      neo_4789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Hi,

      New user here looking for some advice please.

      I've just upgraded from Sky Unlimited Broadband to Sky Fibre unlimited. I'd not really thought too much about the router quality as I was on a relatively low (15Mb) connection speed. With my line tested for fibre being 39-40mb I started to look for new modem/router options. However I've recently discovered that Sky don't make it easy to use anything but their very basic black SR102 hub....

      So my question is, is it possible to have a reliable connection using a third party modem/router? I would prefer to use an all in one modem/router if possible but if it makes things easier/less complicated I'd be willing to disable the wireless functionality of the SR102 and add a 3rd party wireless router via ethernet.

      My requirements are:

      -Get the best wireless speeds (802.11ac)
      -Dual band minimum (really want to be able to utilise 5Ghz)
      -Decent wireless range

      Been looking at Netgears and Asus models but happy for any suggestions. Really just want to know if it's feasible to have a reliable connection first and then how to do it!

      Really appreciate any help as I don't want to use the Sky hub!

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please


    4. #3
      neo_4789's Avatar
      neo_4789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Thank you for your reply. Yes I had a look there however it didn't seem clear to me exactly what the answer is... maybe I'm not very knowledgeable on this.

      Can you disable the wireless on the Sky Hub and connect using any router?

      Does it differ for Sky fibre pro unlimited?

      Sorry for all the questions, I do have a decent understanding but there's so much jargon and acronyms that I'm a little but puzzled!

    5. #4
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      There are three main ways to attack this

      1) Keep the sky router to do IP allocation and just allow the third party router to act as a wifi access point
      2) Keep the sky router and allow the third party router to do IP allocation and wifi (DMZ mode)
      3) Remove the sky router altogether and use a third party solution only

      All are possible but your choice will influence the advice given

      From your first post it sounds like you want option 3, but the reply maybe suggests your interested in option 1

      You need to make that decision first before we can steer you in the right direction

      All 3 options have their pros and cons
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    6. #5
      neo_4789's Avatar
      neo_4789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Thank you for your reply. I would ideally like to buy a modem/router all in one solution but I get the impression only certain brands/models will work?

      could you explain to me the difference between option 1 and 2? I am quite technically minded but unfamiliar with those terms. If I keep the sky hub for modem usage only, my only concern is that the modem will give me a decent speed or is it purely the wireless limitations of the SR102 that will be the issue? If that's the case then I'd be happy to just use it as a modem and then get a third party router.

      thanks again for your advice

    7. #6
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Option 1 you simply turn off the wifi on the sky hub and then connect a wifi access point (third party router in bridge mode) to one of the sky hubs ethernet ports
      Set the wifi up on the third part router and your done. The sky hub is adequate as a router if you don't need advanced features. Its just the wifi that not great.

      Option 2 you set the IP address of the third party router to be a fixed address on the same subnet as the sky router then set the DMZ on the sky router to point to the third party router at the fixed IP address you gave it. This effectively puts the sky hub into modem mode (although that is not strictly true as the sky hub does not allow that option). Then you configure the third party router to do DHCP and WIFI as if the sky hub was not there and you now get the configurability of the third party router
      Last edited by nivek1612; 15-02-17 at 12:12 AM.
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    8. #7
      neo_4789's Avatar
      neo_4789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Thanks for that explanation. With option 1, can I use any VDSL router I want in bridge mode to transmit the wireless or is it only certain models?

      option 2, it sounds a bit more difficult - what benefits would there be over option 1?

      sorry for all the questions just trying to understand so I can make a decision!

    9. #8
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Thats almost an impossible question to answer. In theory yes but there will be some that just don't want to operate like that.

      Remember there are modem/router combos and routers.
      The former are in my experience more troublesome to connect to another modem/router.

      Search Google for "wifi ac access point"
      Then pick one that suits your needs (price point)

      The WIFI AC bit is important as some of the cheaper AP's will be wifi N which is much slower

      Of course if you want simple you could just upgrade to a SKY Q Hub, its wifi is much better than the SR102
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    10. #9
      neo_4789's Avatar
      neo_4789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Ok thanks for that really appreciate it.

      yeah I've been looking at the whole home wireless access points and they seem really useful such as the netgear Orbi however they are pricey. Possibly the BT whole home?

      So just to clarify, (last question I'm sorry) but generally although it's not guaranteed I could buy most routers not modem/router and turn off the wireless function of the sky hub and it 'should' work?

      thanks

    11. #10
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Sky Broadband to Fibre Unlimited - router help please

      Yes pretty much

      You would need to configure them but I'm sure if you get stuck we can help out
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION