Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 29
    Like Tree5Likes

    Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Pro being retired? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just read this: Sky Fibre Pro being retired ... :: Sky Broadband :: think broadband Fact or rumour? Will await ...

    1. #1
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,404
      Thanks
      412
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Just read this:
      Sky Fibre Pro being retired ... :: Sky Broadband :: think broadband

      Fact or rumour? Will await further news! In the meantime, discuss...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Just read this:
      Sky Fibre Pro being retired ... :: Sky Broadband :: think broadband

      Fact or rumour? Will await further news! In the meantime, discuss...
      It wasn't me, but it is true.

      Scubbie will probably confirm after 16th August, when it is officially changed.

      The main differences are - no specialised support - just regular Fibre BB support; no fixed IP address; no line profile support so you cannot choose from different line profiles like you can now!

      It will be 25 per month though instead of 30, although like Fibre Pro it will only be available by phoning Sky, initially.
      Fibre Pro will continue to exist for customers who have it and want to keep it!

      There are a couple of other non-broadband things changing on 16th August too, FYI.
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

    4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bubblegun For This Useful Post:

      Angel_Rex (14-08-16),speedyrite (14-08-16)

    5. #3
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
      There are a couple of other non-broadband things changing on 16th August too, FYI.
      Hmm sounds interesting, care to hint at what those other things may be?

    6. #4
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      Hmm sounds interesting, care to hint at what those other things may be?
      Renaming some other products...that already exist..
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to bubblegun For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (14-08-16)

    8. #5
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Ahh ok, still nothing forthcoming on the mobile front yet then

    9. #6
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Virgin. Over 500mb.
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,664
      Thanks
      94
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      How can you choose from different line profiles on fibre pro?

      I am not aware of this.

    10. #7
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,404
      Thanks
      412
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      How can you choose from different line profiles on fibre pro?

      I am not aware of this.
      You can't. It was a feature that was "coming soon" for a long time but never materialised. For a while, the Pro team would accept requests from customers and put them through to Openreach, but I believe that they have stopped offering that now.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to speedyrite For This Useful Post:

      dog-man (14-08-16)

    12. #8
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      791
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      You can't. It was a feature that was "coming soon" for a long time but never materialised. For a while, the Pro team would accept requests from customers and put them through to Openreach, but I believe that they have stopped offering that now.
      I have asked numerous times to be moved to speed rather than std and was told it was not possible but I have now been told they are hoping to do this in the future but no time scale was given on when this might be possible. Be off to plus net net if they scrap fixed IP as much as really wouldn't want to.

      Really hope they don't scrap the Pro support team...
      Last edited by skyeci; 14-08-16 at 09:49 PM.
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6 now Zen ex Sky fibre pro
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats by pi3

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats by pi3

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to skyeci For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (14-08-16)

    14. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      I've never had a fixed IP with Pro.


    15. #10
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      791
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      I do. You do have to ask pro support. It was free when I got it.
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6 now Zen ex Sky fibre pro
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats by pi3

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats by pi3

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION