Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29
    Like Tree5Likes

    Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Pro being retired? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You've got a good line. Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk...

    1. #21
      vfx's Avatar
      vfx
      vfx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub 2 SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD x4 MS
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      You've got a good line.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      JT_Mech's Avatar
      JT_Mech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Slough
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      If the only thing you keep with Pro is a static IP and only with ipv4, is it worth the extra 5 a month if everything is going ipv6?

    4. #23
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by JT_Mech View Post
      If the only thing you keep with Pro is a static IP and only with ipv4, is it worth the extra 5 a month if everything is going ipv6?
      Certainly the extra 5 per month for a static IPv4 address sounds good, but with IPv6 now the norm for most people, it's becoming meaningless.

      I've already seen one person having an issue. Their work makes use of a VPN from a know address. Their work has already switched to IPv6. Until their own connection had IPv6 switch on everything worked Ok. Now it doesn't.

      I'm not sure how long it will take for IPv4 to e disabled. Perhaps another 5-10 years, but it will happen. Sky has a lot of time to play with things, but with the launch of SFM, it looks like they don't want to continue support for fixed IP Addresses.

      So what else does your extra 5 per month provide?

      In reality the ability to change the DLM profile setting was never that beneficial. I saw more issues with the 'speedy' setting than it resolved. Most people with SFUP get a ping around 10ms, which is pretty good. To get anything faster you need to either live near to Sky's servers in London or have FTTP from someone else. I've heard that Hyperoptic customers can get around 3-5ms. Of course you need to live in an area where they can supply you.

      The Pro team may use terms such as 'speedy' to describe a DLM setting, as opposed to BTO's terminology, but that may be what their paperwork calls the settings for internal use. I don't know. Does it really matter? What I based my opinion on was the feedback I've read from a variety of people posting on both these forums and the Sky forums. I've also had the occasional chat with them on the phone and via PM myself a few times. Unlike some of the non-Pro people, I've not seen anything that concerns me about the advice they've provided ever since they joined Sky after Be sold their ADSL broadband business to Sky.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #24
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by chrcol View Post
      you can still set it I just checked, but they have now moved it to a more hidden place.
      And where might that be ?


    6. #25
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      It's behind you!

    7. #26
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Umm, the static ipv4 does not become useless because of ipv6 right now, sadly the vast majority of the internet is still only single stacked ipv4, and as such for me personally a static ipv4 remains very useful.

      To predict ipv4 will be disabled in 5 years is incredibly optimistic, I expect more likely 15-20 years minimal we will be in a state of retiring the older protocol, things just move too slowly.

      Now is 5 month good value for static ipv4? depends.

      Plusnet will give you static ip for a one off fee, so when comparing to them its poor value.
      On the other hand BT require you to use their business service, which is circa a 15 premium monthly plus it has traffic shaping on top.

      I consider sky's network quality much superior to plusnet so it really depends on what you value.

      For reference I dont think I have ipv6 yet from sky.
      Last edited by chrcol; 23-08-16 at 01:01 PM.
      jkhl likes this.

    8. #27
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      It used to be on your sky broadband web page, turn it on or off or ask for a new address, if available. if they drop ipv4 static, then its bye bye... I'll be off to ZEN.
      Last edited by marjohn56; 20-08-16 at 08:28 AM.
      dholdi likes this.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to marjohn56 For This Useful Post:

      dholdi (20-08-16)

    10. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by chrcol View Post
      ...For reference I dont think I have ipv6 yet from sky.
      Some non-Sky outers are having problems or may not be correctly set up to work with Sky's IPv6. You may wish to check this over first.

      After that please check out the IPv6 test sites below:

      Ready for the future of the Internet?

      Test your IPv6.

      IPv6 test - IPv6/4 connectivity and speed test

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #29
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro being retired?

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      It used to be on your sky broadband web page, turn it on or off or ask for a new address, if available. if they drop ipv4 static, then its bye bye... I'll be off to ZEN.
      Thanks, found it.


     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION