Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By simon194

    SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

    This is a discussion on SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So I have switched back to the SKY Q Hub whilst i work out how to enable IpV6 on my ...

    1. #1
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

      So I have switched back to the SKY Q Hub whilst i work out how to enable IpV6 on my ABS

      As I'm connecting via the HG612 Openreach Modem via WANOE will I still get firmware updates as I'm still on the 1.9d.1716.R version
      Or do I need to connect via the modem ?
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jkhl's Avatar
      jkhl is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

      You need to connect directly.
      Sent with Tapatalk (the crap Windows Phone Version!)

    4. #3
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

      Thanks

      in that case no updates for me :-)
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    5. #4
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

      Quote Originally Posted by jkhl View Post
      You need to connect directly.
      Sent with Tapatalk (the crap Windows Phone Version!)
      No you don't. My Q hub is connected to a Billion 8800NL by WANOE and it got the 1.9f.1769.R update OK.
      jkhl likes this.

    6. #5
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      No you don't. My Q hub is connected to a Billion 8800NL by WANOE and it got the 1.9f.1769.R update OK.
      Good to hear. I will just have to wait then still stuck at the minute
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    7. #6
      jkhl's Avatar
      jkhl is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      No you don't. My Q hub is connected to a Billion 8800NL by WANOE and it got the 1.9f.1769.R update OK.
      Strange. I'm still stuck on 1716. I asked the question elsewhere before and was told direct connection using the modem was required.

      Looks like we just need to be more patient!

      Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

    8. #7
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: SKY Q Hub connected to HG612 via WANOE - Firmware Updates

      I actually rang the Sky Pro team and they confirmed that WANOE is fine

      They couldn't explain why I had not got the upgrade though and said they would investigate and come back to me

      Note sure what the new firmware gives me as so far its been rock solid
      Maybe its modem related changes rather than router related
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION