Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Fibre Pro

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Pro within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just upgraded my Sky Fibre to Fibre pro after an offer of 3 months free then 5 discount ...

    1. #1
      Sparkymatt's Avatar
      Sparkymatt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickford
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Sky Fibre Pro

      I have just upgraded my Sky Fibre to Fibre pro after an offer of 3 months free then 5 discount from October.

      I am using the new Sky Q hub as I also have Sky Q.

      On Sky fibre I was syncing at 39999/9999. When Fibre Pro first went live, I was syncing at 48565/14935. Now after 5 days it has dropped to 47095/14235.

      When I do a check on MySky web page, it tells me my line can support 43-58Mb. I am barely making the 47Mb sync.

      My line stats from the Hub are:-

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 47095 kbps 14235 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21.1 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.1 dB 6.6 dB

      I am using a faceplate installed by a BT engineer when I first had Fibre installed.

      Is there anything I can do to improve this?

      Can I expect any more speed at these levels and if not, would it be worth paying for the Pro product even with a discount of 5, (Effectively 5 more than normal Fibre)

      Matt
      Last edited by Sparkymatt; 10-07-16 at 10:53 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LesMcQueen's Avatar
      LesMcQueen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      Hi Matt.

      I'm having a similar experience.

      First day on Fibre Pro I was syncing at ~55Mb which dropped to ~52Mb over the course of a week.

      Just trying to decide whether the extra 12Mb is worth a fiver a month :-)

      Andy

    4. #3
      Sparkymatt's Avatar
      Sparkymatt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickford
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      Hi Andy

      I think i will give it the 3 month trial to see if things improve and decide in October whether the extra 8Mb increase over nornal Fibre is worth the 5 on top.

      Matt

    5. #4
      LesMcQueen's Avatar
      LesMcQueen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      Hi Matt.

      Just found this .... VDSL2 (FTTC) Speed vs. Distance | Increase Broadband Speed

      Not sure how accurate it is, but dependent on the distance from me to my street cabinet (~0.55km) it suggests that I should be getting roughly what I'm getting :-(

      Seems like distance to your cabinet and it's effect on the attenuation is the main factor in the sync speed.

      Do the figures pan out for you?

      Andy

    6. #5
      Sparkymatt's Avatar
      Sparkymatt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickford
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      After a fair bit of searching I think i have found the rough location of my street cabinet and like you it is about 0.5km away.

      Judging by that graph on your link, the estimated speed is about right but i am getting about 10Mbs lower. As my sync speed falls within the estimated range, I guess there is not much more I can do.

      Matt

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Sparkymatt For This Useful Post:

      mikelane (12-07-16)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION