Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    FTTC Modem, Help?

    This is a discussion on FTTC Modem, Help? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What's the benefits with sky pro? Just a static IP ? Will they squeeze anymore performance out of the line?...

    1. #11
      LeeH1978's Avatar
      LeeH1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barrow Upon Humber
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      What's the benefits with sky pro? Just a static IP? Will they squeeze anymore performance out of the line?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,413
      Thanks
      423
      Thanked 168 Times in 162 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by LeeH1978 View Post
      What's the benefits with sky pro? Just a static IP? Will they squeeze anymore performance out of the line?
      If the line can support a higher download throughput speed than 40Mbps, you get the benefit of the higher speed.

      Otherwise, it's pretty much just the static IP address (which is optional to have).

      Of course, it's then also a matter of considering whether the extra 10 monthly cost of Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro (SFUP, up to 76Mbps d/l for 30) compared to the cost of Sky Fibre Unlimited (SFU, up to 38Mbps d/l for 20) is worth it for the extra speed.

      Probably not, given that PlusNet offer up to 76Mbps for 20 (and maybe some others for a shade over 20) - excluding any joining offers. Unless you can blag a discount on an upgrade to SFUP...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to speedyrite For This Useful Post:

      LeeH1978 (10-02-16)

    5. #13
      clithes's Avatar
      clithes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMATLO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by LeeH1978 View Post
      What's the benefits with sky pro? Just a static IP? Will they squeeze anymore performance out of the line?
      Always worth trying to check your line stats to see if the upgrade is worth the cost.

      These are mine, for example:

      xdslctl info --stats
      xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      Last initialization procedure status: 0
      Max: Upstream rate = 11121 Kbps, Downstream rate = 53428 Kbps
      Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 9999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 39999 Kbps
      Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
      VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
      TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.6 7.6
      Attn(dB): 20.2 0.0
      Pwr(dBm): 13.1 7.3

      So would I pay an extra tenner a month to move from a 39999 Kbps to 53428 Kbps download speed, probably not. For others where the connection would double then yes I probably would.

    6. #14
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      Is there any way possible to get those line stats when using an ECI OR Modem and Sky's Sagemcom 2504N router ?

    7. #15
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i7 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      793
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      based on the shipped ECI firmware on the /r version - its a no - the eci modem is locked down when compared to the hg612. There is a chap on kitz who can mod the /r modem and load a custom build of openwrt - I have sent him a spare eci modem I have and very interested to see the end result. There is a long post about it on kitz if you are interested.

      I have tried the 612 with full stats running 24/7 but there were too may syncs and high numbers of errors so reverted back to my eci modem as I don't think my eci cabinet liked it one bit but it's annoying not being able to monitor properly. Happy to let you know the outcome once its back and connected.

      firmware change I am going to try out to hopefully monitor Upgrade your BT Openreach FTTC VDSL2 Modem ECI B-FOCuS V-2FUb/R Rev.B OpenWrt | eBay (same chap as mentioned above)


      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      Is there any way possible to get those line stats when using an ECI OR Modem and Sky's Sagemcom 2504N router ?
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6 now Zen ex Sky fibre pro
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats by pi3

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats by pi3

    8. #16
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      I take it you cant get the detailed stats from the Sky routers with built in vdsl modems either like SR102 and the new SkyQ modem ?

    9. #17
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i7 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      793
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      Sr102 gives you sync rate up and down wether its connected to a bt or modem or you use it as a modem

      You get this


      help

      Modem Status*Connected

      Traffic Type:PTM

      Line Rate - Upstream (Kbps):19477

      Line Rate - Downstream (Kbps):48214

      Not much info when compared to using hg612 for example.
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6 now Zen ex Sky fibre pro
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats by pi3

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats by pi3

    10. #18
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      yeah its the max attainable line rate value that would be very good to know its a pity the Sky modems dont include that reading aye, thx for the replies anyway

    11. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: FTTC Modem, Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by choppersrock View Post
      Sr102 gives you sync rate up and down wether its connected to a bt or modem or you use it as a modem

      You get this


      help

      Modem Status*Connected

      Traffic Type:PTM

      Line Rate - Upstream (Kbps):19477

      Line Rate - Downstream (Kbps):48214

      Not much info when compared to using hg612 for example.
      Doesn't the 102 give up and down speeds and noise margin down? If Moxey has a maximum download (39999?) with a high noise margin that would auger well for a good speed on Pro. He should also check with the BTO cabinet checker.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION