Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree1Likes

    New Router slow upload?

    This is a discussion on New Router slow upload? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi new guy here i've recently swapped out my sky hub sr101 for a netgear d7000, setup went ok I ...

    1. #1
      box360's Avatar
      box360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: NETGEAR D7000
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Router slow upload?

      Hi new guy here i've recently swapped out my sky hub sr101 for a netgear d7000, setup went ok I have my username and password extracted, option 60/61 ect, my problem is my upload has gone down from almost 10 meg to 0.45? The Router stats link rate is all normal so don't know if dlm has kicked in? Any help would be appreciated,
      New Router slow upload?-image.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,203
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,224 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      The connection figures there suggest that you should be able to achieve somewhere around 9mb/s+ using the speedtest.net site.

      Could I ask you to try it? If necessary try some different servers too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      box360's Avatar
      box360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: NETGEAR D7000
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      yes will do I'm at work at the minute but will post back in here thanks, here's a couple from yesterday and this morning
      New Router slow upload?-image.jpg


      New Router slow upload?-image.jpg

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,203
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,224 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      Ahh... those pics say a lot more too.

      You should connect via Ethernet and do the tests with something such as a Laptop.

      There are many things that can interfere with the WiFi and you can pick a different server more easily with a laptop.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      As Scubbie says above, but I have a vague recollection of this issue when I was running a D7000, but my memory can be very vague!

      Can you navigate to the Advanced->Setup->QOS page and disable the WMM Multimedia settings and then try a speedtest.

      Also, have you tried a speedtest using both the 2.4Ghz and the 5Ghz bands?
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #6
      box360's Avatar
      box360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: NETGEAR D7000
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      Will give it ago guys just got in so will try what you have suggested thanks again

    8. #7
      box360's Avatar
      box360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: NETGEAR D7000
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      ok so I have run a few speed tests here are the results all wired
      New Router slow upload?-4967958622.jpg
      New Router slow upload?-4967969505.jpg

      this test was with WMM Multimedia disabled
      New Router slow upload?-after.jpg
      my stats from tonightNew Router slow upload?-2016-01-04.jpg
      I have no idea where to go from here??
      Last edited by box360; 04-01-16 at 06:41 PM.

    9. #8
      box360's Avatar
      box360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: NETGEAR D7000
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      this is a strange one? I have reset the router a couple of times out of frustration, but now after the 3rd reset I seem to have my speed back?



      Edit: New Router slow upload?-image.jpg think the firmware is buggy on this, the router was telling me I wasn't connected to the Internet when I clearly was?? Had to go though Manual set up again to get rid of it?
      Last edited by box360; 04-01-16 at 07:55 PM.
      Scubbie likes this.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,203
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,224 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      The issue with Netgear Genie isn't new. I'd check your computer over for any nasties if I were you.

      It can actually indicate any number of issues, such as a hardware issue or a potential nasty.

      Enable the traffic meter on the router too, just in case something was hogging the traffic.

      I've just rebuilt a friend's laptop and installed Win 10. One issue he's had was connecting to the WiFi. As an experiment I swapped the WiFi card for an old one of mine. So far it's working much better than the previous one. When he picks it up tomorrow I'll let him know what I've done and let him take both away.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      box360's Avatar
      box360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: NETGEAR D7000
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router slow upload?

      Thanks scubbie, I think I may have found the problem, what I did yesterday after I set up the router was open up QOS and enter the Xbox live port information because I was getting a moderate nat on the Xbox one, well after today's reset everything has gone back to normal, speed wise, so iv now gone and opened up QOS and entered the Xbox live info again, and low and behold my speed issues have returned! Upload 0.45 download 30ish down, turned QOS off and everything works again?? So there must be a issue with QOS?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION