Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By marjohn56

    Should I give Sky a call?

    This is a discussion on Should I give Sky a call? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My line attenuation increased by 3db on wednesday evening, along with a reset, and looking at my stats it looks ...

    1. #1
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Should I give Sky a call?

      My line attenuation increased by 3db on wednesday evening, along with a reset, and looking at my stats it looks a bit alarming. Contact the pro team?

      Name:  anr.jpg
Views: 314
Size:  20.2 KB
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,203
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,224 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      There's no harm in calling them. They may be able to see what happened but it is unlikely that they may be able to do anything about it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      it is unlikely that they may be able to do anything about it.
      That's what I thought. Guess I'll just have to wait for it to become really bad or fall over completely!
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. #4
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      If you look at mydslwebstats Angel-Rex you will notice my upstream SNR keeps dropping to 3.8 for 5.8, no idea why it keeps doing this, nothing in my house is causing it.....

      - - - Updated - - -

      It has now only done this twice, started at 7am and finished at 12am, will monitor and check later again.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Should I give Sky a call?-snr-up.jpg  

    6. #5
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      I've switched back to using the OR modem and if you look at my stats since Saturday things are looking good, so it looks like there is an issue with my D7000.

      It has forced me to make the decision to build a pfsense router anyway, something I had been putting off. Just looking at my router logs this morning, hack attempts from China, West Africa and Thailand to name but three; once the pfsense is in place I'll be be doing a lot of Geo IP blocking!
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #6
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      So, seems to be more frequent now? It's happening at a different time, a reboot of the SR102 isnt sorting it today, but did randomly kick the SNR back up last night..... although this could be coincidence.......


      Thoughts?

      Should I give Sky a call?-snr1.jpg
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Should I give Sky a call?-sndup1.jpg  

    8. #7
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      Just looked at your stats on MDSLWS and looking at DS that would seem to be atmospheric related, a bit like my US. However the US SNR would seem to indicate external noise from someone switching something on and off. Are you near commercial premises?

      Either that or someone switches thier modem off at when they are not using it; a classic case of crosstalk perhaps?

      There's an old fasioned method of using an AM radio tuned to no station. If it's interference from a device, old TV and the like, then you will probably hear it at the same time as it shows on your graph. You can then walk around, with the radio of course, and try and locate the source. Could be something as simple as a flourescent fitting causing it. You could also try fitting a filtered mains extension and pllugging the modem into that, no guarantees but it might help.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    9. #8
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      This has only just started this in the last week so i doubt rein would suddenly kick in after 2 years

      but you never know.....

      I'll monitor it for the next week then call sky. I'm no where near commercial premises and ive already ruled out everything in my house!

    10. #9
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      Next door neighbour... It's always their fault.
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    11. #10
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Should I give Sky a call?

      Should I give Sky a call?-snrup1.jpg

      Seems to have setted the SNR.

      I think we have gas mains works or water work going on, this seems to be half way down our road, I suspect that the machinery here will be the cause. Will monitor.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION