Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    New installation Fibre unlimited

    This is a discussion on New installation Fibre unlimited within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm wanting to upgrade my connection to fibre unlimited, biggest reason is to increase up speed. Currently installed is ...

    1. #1
      Cornersruns's Avatar
      Cornersruns is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New installation Fibre unlimited

      Hi,

      I'm wanting to upgrade my connection to fibre unlimited, biggest reason is to increase up speed.

      Currently installed is an ADSL nation faceplate on my master socket, cable run under floor to a SR102 hub in the lounge.

      I don't have a mains socket near the BT master socket.

      From what I understand fibre is now self install?

      What equipment is now supplied for the install?

      Is there still a BT modem needed near to the master socket? If so how far away can this be from the master socket without degradation in performance?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: New installation Fibre unlimited

      The 102 has the modem built into it, so no separate openreach unit needed. Not sure what is being supplied with a self install, it used to be that it was more desirable to have as short a run as possible between the junction box and the modem, however times and technologies change, so this may no longer be the case. It sounds like you have a solid set up at present, if the cable you are using underfloor at the moment is good, you may well not need to change anything when you switch to fibre.

    4. #3
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: New installation Fibre unlimited

      You will need to find the original non-filtered faceplate.

      The ADSL nation faceplate isn't compatible with fibre connections & the SR102 is supplied with fibre spec microfilters for plugging into a standard faceplate.
      Alternatively you can fit a filtered vDSL faceplate, which does the same job as your ADSL nation one but is compatible with fibre.
      This fits in between the wall mounted back box & original standard faceplate.

      There are 3 versions of official bt vDSL faceplate + a newer type with different characteristics, discussed here:
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...e-vte2015.html
      Personally, i would be aiming to have a vDSL faceplate fitted before the fibre connection went live.
      They work with ADSL too & this would avoid any disconnections that may cause DLM to step in.

      If the under floor cable is quality cat5e specification then speed loss should be minimal or non-existent.
      If it's standard flat phone extension cable, speed loss could be severe.

    5. #4
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: New installation Fibre unlimited

      dont forget to ensure you use pure copper cat5e (if you use it)
      most ebay cables are cca which are junk

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New installation Fibre unlimited

      The ADSL nation faceplate isn't compatible with fibre connections & the SR102 is supplied with fibre spec microfilters for plugging into a standard faceplate.
      That is not strictly true. Fibre will work OK with an ADSL faceplate, probably just as well as with plug in micro filters. If I were you I would leave it until your fibre is enabled. If you get a good speed, just leave it. If your speed or stability is poor, then you can fit a vDSL plate.

      I would add to Shonk's comment, if you have a flat telephone cable, ie not a Cat5e type under the floor, replace it with a good quality Cat5e cable. As Shonk also says get your cable from a reputable supplier, nearly all that is offered on eBay is CCS, ie, copper plated steel. Make sure you get solid copper from a trustworthy dealer like Runitdirect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: New installation Fibre unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme
      The ADSL nation faceplate isn't compatible with fibre connections & the SR102 is supplied with fibre spec microfilters for plugging into a standard faceplate.
      That is not strictly true. Fibre will work OK with an ADSL faceplate, probably just as well as with plug in micro filters. If I were you I would leave it until your fibre is enabled. If you get a good speed, just leave it. If your speed or stability is poor, then you can fit a vDSL plate.
      True.
      'Isn't compatible' wasn't strictly the correct phrase to use & perhaps 'wasn't originally designed for' would be better.

      If the cost of a vDSL faceplate is of no consequence then personally i'd be fitting one asap, if only for peace of mind & to avoid the potential DLM hammer.

    8. #7
      Cornersruns's Avatar
      Cornersruns is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation Fibre unlimited

      Thanks for the replies guys.

      I think I'll get a new faceplate, existing cabling will be fine as I always get quality stuff ( hence the ADSL Nation face plate which was the recommended solution when I got Sky broadband and was bought before install )

      Only test now is whether the hub wireless will cope, most of my work is done on a laptop although the PC is cabled into the hub.

      Cheers

      - - - Updated - - -

      Thanks for the replies guys.

      I think I'll get a new faceplate, existing cabling will be fine as I always get quality stuff ( hence the ADSL Nation face plate which was the recommended solution when I got Sky broadband and was bought before install )

      Only test now is whether the hub wireless will cope, most of my work is done on a laptop although the PC is cabled into the hub.

      Cheers

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION