Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

    This is a discussion on Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; For some reason, I cannot upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro (76Mbps) as the option isn't offered on Sky's Upgrade ...

    1. #1
      Aaron_01's Avatar
      Aaron_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

      For some reason, I cannot upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro (76Mbps) as the option isn't offered on Sky's Upgrade page? I have looked up my address on Energy Comparison of Gas & Electricity | Broadband Deals & Mobile Phones | uSwitch.com and BT Broadband and both say I am able to get 76Mbps (80 on DSL Checker)

      Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/w64yepsr0e...order.png?dl=0

      Any ideas why? The FTTC cabinet is only a mere 100 meters away from me, and a friend connected to the same cabinet (who is 5 minutes walk away) got an estimate of 45-60 Mbps
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro-skyorder.jpg  
      Last edited by Aaron_01; 12-09-15 at 02:17 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by aaron_01
      For some reason, I cannot upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro (76Mbps) as the option isn't offered on Sky's Upgrade page? I have looked up my address...
      You should be able to get Sky fibre Pro. It doesn't appear as an option on the website so you can either give Sky sales a call or order Sky Fibre unlimited and upgrade to Pro after the fibre service has gone live.
      Last edited by seawright; 12-09-15 at 02:44 PM.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Aaron_01 (12-09-15)

    5. #3
      Aaron_01's Avatar
      Aaron_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

      Thanks, went ahead and upgraded anyway.

      Although the tracking order page was a bit alarming, doesn't it take 2 weeks for a Fibre install? Are they really cutting my Sky ADSL today?

      Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro-skyorder2.jpg

    6. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

      There's a man running down the road now to plug you in to the fibre ports...

      If you get connected today that would certainly be a record and they usually, note I said usually don't disconnect the ADSL until the switch.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #5
      Aaron_01's Avatar
      Aaron_01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

      Unlikely hehe, I think I will need a home visit from an engineer as sockets etc. aren't fibre ready

    8. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

      No you will retain your ADSL service until the day your fibre service goes live.
      It can take up to two weeks as it requires an Openreach visit to your cabinet.
      If you check order tracking again late Monday you should have an activation date.

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can't upgrade to Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by Aaron_01 View Post
      Unlikely hehe, I think I will need a home visit from an engineer as sockets etc. aren't fibre ready
      If you have an active phone you are very unlikely to get a home engineer visit. Sky are all self service now, you get a router, filters, etc in the post and that's it. There is supposed to be an engineer install service for an extra cost, but I don't know of anyone who has been offered it. Early adopters received an engineer visit where everything was set up for them, unfortunately that does not happen now, hence the increasing number of complaints.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION