Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

    This is a discussion on sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. Hope someone can help. I was a sky adsl customer until my service was upgraded today to fibre.The hub ...

    1. #1
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      788
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts

      sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

      Hi.

      Hope someone can help. I was a sky adsl customer until my service was upgraded today to fibre.The hub has gone missing in the post/courier service so now have no service.
      I have a 9980 ready to use with beta firmware. I knew my old adsl login details as I used my own router- are the adsl login details going to work or do you get new ones when moving to sky fibre?
      Cant do much about it till after work but any help appreciated as would like to get back on line tonight.

      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      launton's Avatar
      launton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVROY (Liverpool Royal)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Humax HDR-1000S
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

      Re: sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

      I think you can use your old ones as they may still be active (correct me if wrong someone please) as it wasn't disconnected through non payment.

    4. #3
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Virgin. Over 500mb.
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,664
      Thanks
      93
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

      I think the logon details are different for fibre.

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      788
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts

      Re: sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      I think the logon details are different for fibre.
      How about no username a password!!!. I ran the auto setup for w9980 (with beta firmware), selected other, dynamic IP - it connected straight away.... so from no service due to no sky hub its all up and running. I did not specify any other details bar I did tick MER - seems to work ok with this ticked...

      Firmware Version:0.6.0 1.10 v0021.0 Build 150413 Rel.32590n
      Hardware Version:TD-W9980 v1 00000000
      System Up Time:0 day(s) 20:23:09

      DSL
      Line Status:Connected
      DSL Modulation Type:VDSL2
      Annex Type:Annex A/B/L/M
      Upstream Downstream
      Current Rate (Kbps) 9995 39993
      Max Rate (Kbps) 22165 54763
      SNR Margin (dB) 13.4 10.6
      Line Attenuation (dB) 14.4 14.8
      Errors (Pkts) 0 0


      WAN
      Name Connection Type VPI/VCI or VID IP/Mask Gateway DNS Status
      ipoe_ptm_101_0_d Dynamic IP 101 removed removed 90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99 Connected



      will see how it goes...

    6. #5
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      I think the logon details are different for fibre.
      The Sly ADSL logon details will work on Sky fibre.

    7. #6
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

      Quote Originally Posted by choppersrock View Post
      How about no username a password!!!. I ran the auto setup for w9980 (with beta firmware), selected other, dynamic IP - it connected straight away.... so from no service due to no sky hub its all up and running. I did not specify any other details bar I did tick MER - seems to work ok with this ticked...

      Firmware Version:0.6.0 1.10 v0021.0 Build 150413 Rel.32590n
      Hardware Version:TD-W9980 v1 00000000
      System Up Time:0 day(s) 20:23:09

      DSL
      Line Status:Connected
      DSL Modulation Type:VDSL2
      Annex Type:Annex A/B/L/M
      Upstream Downstream
      Current Rate (Kbps) 9995 39993
      Max Rate (Kbps) 22165 54763
      SNR Margin (dB) 13.4 10.6
      Line Attenuation (dB) 14.4 14.8
      Errors (Pkts) 0 0


      WAN
      Name Connection Type VPI/VCI or VID IP/Mask Gateway DNS Status
      ipoe_ptm_101_0_d Dynamic IP 101 removed removed 90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99 Connected



      will see how it goes...
      Same for me when I set up yesterday. No username or password required on my Apple AirPort Extreme.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    8. #7
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      788
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts

      Re: sky hub lost in post, service active from previous adsl service- username query

      Interestingly it worked for about a week with no details then the router would not logon. So back out with the sr102 & wireshark and then obtained what appeared to be a new username and password from what I had obtained when the replacement 102 finally arrived.
      Put the new username and password into the 9980 and hey presto it came back up so I think its probably wise to put the username and password if you have it....
      Cheers

      - - - Updated - - -

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION