Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    No hair left

    This is a discussion on No hair left within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all you knowledgeable peeps I have registered on the forum specifically to request your help. My wifi is all ...

    1. #1
      Gweedo's Avatar
      Gweedo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2015
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No hair left

      Hi all you knowledgeable peeps

      I have registered on the forum specifically to request your help.

      My wifi is all over the place. I am downstairs, the router (SR101) is upstairs, probably 10 yards away, but not in direct line of sight. I cant connect to it directly at the moment, but can connect through a netgear WN2000RPT booster.

      I use the booster as my house is quite long, and there is a PC in the back bedroom. The SKY router signal doesn't reach the back room.

      There are a number of devices connected:
      My desktop PC (via booster)
      2 x kids desktop PC's (1 via booster, 1 via sky router)
      1 x PS4 (via sky router)

      My PC wifi speeds are all over the place. I have used Ookla. One test can give me 4mb, the next a minute later 14mb. I disconnect, the kids PC's disconnect, the PS4 disconnects, we have limited access, no access.......aaarrgghhhhh

      I am normally quite good at sorting this stuff out, but am at my wits end.

      Personally I reckon the router packing up. I am out of my 12 month period so apparently need to by a replacement if needed...haha. At the moment, BT is looking good, maybe even plusnet.....

      Can anyone give me any suggestions as to why the wifi is so variable?

      I have tried the usual, channel hopping, moving the router (limited due to power cable length).

      Any pointers would be appreciated.

      Thx
      Guy

      recent wifi speed tests

      DOWNLOAD_MEGABITS UPLOAD_MEGABITS LATENCY_MS
      14.9 8.49 28
      9.54 8.11 24
      10.88 4.52 31
      10.68 8.61 31
      4.29 0.54 32
      2.23 1.38 55
      7.22 6.21 32
      10.19 2.73 38
      9.68 2.37 34
      10.28 6.64 33
      6.61 3.3 25
      4.18 5.76 39


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: No hair left

      Boosters are a load of rubbish. Providing you can run homeplugs, buy a set of homeplugs extend network to other end of house/wherever and plug in another router/wireless access point in order to provide 2 wireless networks. Your PC's/Phones etc will automatically pick the strongest signal depending upon where you are.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to audioslim For This Useful Post:

      Gweedo (28-03-15)

    5. #3
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: No hair left

      The boosters half your speed
      so make sure you set the ssid different so you know if your on it
      or not

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Shonk For This Useful Post:

      Gweedo (28-03-15)

    7. #4
      Gweedo's Avatar
      Gweedo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2015
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No hair left

      I appreciate the help guys. I have come upon a netgear N600 WNDR3700v4. I am gonna have a play with it and see if I can get it working instead of the SR101. I dont hold out much hope in reality, because I really dont know what I am doing

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION