Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sorry, yes I am, minus the BT Openreach modem, so far today everything seems ok, was weird last night as ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      Sorry, yes I am, minus the BT Openreach modem, so far today everything seems ok, was weird last night as it disconnected dead on midnight lol.
      If it rebooted there is a good chance it was updating to the latest firmware.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      Ahhh, so it does that by itself? That could explain it, I'll monitor from here on out, that could possibly explain it as it was brand new router, so possibly old software.

    4. #13
      dnpark38's Avatar
      dnpark38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Leeds City Region
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      Quote Originally Posted by kazz0817 View Post
      You have a 1 year warranty, after that it's 71. I managed to blag one though lol.

      .
      As I'm a migration from Be I'm expecting that not to be the case.

    5. #14
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      Quote Originally Posted by dnpark38 View Post
      As I'm a migration from Be I'm expecting that not to be the case.
      I agree, I think those migrating and new customers wont have to pay, it's just those who have had their router over 12 months.

    6. #15
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      Just wondering, I don't need my Openreach modem now or white Hub, if I sold them what info would I need to give the buyer?

    7. #16
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      Quote Originally Posted by kazz0817 View Post
      Just wondering, I don't need my Openreach modem now or white Hub, if I sold them what info would I need to give the buyer?
      personally I would keep the BTO modem in case fin the future you choose to use your own router to get better features
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    8. #17
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      The SR102 covers all my needs, I'm not really an advanced user, and my house is not that big so WIFI range is never an issue, so the modem and white hub are useless to me. Would I just need to give them the network password? Or anything else? (Obviously the Hub and modem and wires lol).

    9. #18
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      I'd keep them, just in case anything does go wrong, but if you do want to sell them, make sure you do a factory reset on the router to revert any changed settings back to 'default'. The wireless password etc., should then be the same as stickered to the router.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Quick Question - Authentication

      You can certainly sell the router as it is your property. I am not sure about the modem, it may remain the property of BTO/Sky, but many others sell them so it is probably OK. All you need to do with the router is emphasize that it can only be used on Sky lines and cannot be used to connect to another ISP and as mentioned, restore it to factory default.

      Before you sell them you might want to consider what will happen if the router goes toes up. There is a good chance you will be without broadband for at least a week, until a replacement can be got to you. Also if this happens after 12 months, you will be expected to pay to replace it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION