Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12
    Like Tree1Likes

    Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone... So i decided after much painfully slow wireless connectivity to look to ditch the SR101 for the shiny ...

    1. #1
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Configuring new Asus RT AC68U for my Fibre connection

      Hi everyone...

      So i decided after much painfully slow wireless connectivity to look to ditch the SR101 for the shiny new Asus RT AC68U with much more capacity for the configurations id like to utilise.

      I am aware from reading this site of the 'sky' implementation of MER authentication, and think i have it 'down' as to what i need to do to get my Asus router connected and receiving an IP.

      1/ i have ran wires shark and captured the DHCP dicover packets and extracted the username@skydsl|password

      2/ i believe i then need to update the stock Asuswrt firmware with for instance asuswrt-merlin found here:

      https://www.mediafire.com/folder/bkf...Asuswrt-Merlin

      Will this allow me then to input the username / password string within the new additional features of the GUI for the router?

      Any advice would be helpful, before i go ahead with the firmware update (dont want to brick the expensive router )

      Cheers
      lee
      Last edited by *skys*the*limit*; 12-06-14 at 03:34 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      managed to get through it... phew haha... looks like a hell of a lot to configure.. but im sure you kind people can help me out.. for now to get me back up and running for mobile devices i just set the ssid and security key as was on SR101 ...ill change this.. when more chance

      Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection-connected.jpg

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      843
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      Well done on getting the details from your SR101.

      Unless someone happens to know how to set up your Asus TR AC68U, all I can suggest is to write down what you would like to set up the router to do and to read through any guide that was supplied with it.

      Things such as 'Guest Network' are useful to have available. My WNDR3800 has this function. For security though I disable the Guest Network most of the time and just enable it when I need it.

      WiFi connection speed, channel selection, WiFi names and passwords (always use WPA2 security) are entirely down to your choices. Where possible set the channels to Auto, but also check with something such as inSSIDer to ensure that you aren't conflicting.

      Also it might seem daft, but only enable the 5GHz band if you have a device that is going to use it.

      Port forwarding, etc., will vary between us all and depends whether you need to set up anything in this respect.

      I notice that you have a 'Traffic Manager' in those options too. Do check this out as it might prove useful if you have an issue with someone hogging your connection at a later date.
      *skys*the*limit* likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      the_noodle's Avatar
      the_noodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      Hi, I need to do the same with the same new router and am keen to know how you got success? I have my username and password captured - do I need to go further and do the firmware update?

      Cheers

    6. #5
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Lede on ECI Modem/pfSense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      530
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      I use this router, you have to use merlin (factory firmware doesn't do it(yet)) flashing is a breeze.

    7. #6
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      As coipu has said.. the flashing with Merlin firmware takes at most 1 minute to do, and then you have the input field where you need to pop in your captured skydsl username and password string. Then you will be connected.

      Coipu.. as you have the same router.. please please tell me i am being a noob.. and its somewhere within the GUI.. i cant find the sync speed to the exchange!!!!???? I dont check often, but i have had the odd occasion when connection has been slower and grabbing the sync speed helps when contacting sky to get BT open reach to investigate

      cheers
      lee

    8. #7
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Lede on ECI Modem/pfSense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      530
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      You wont be able to check the sync speed unless your OR modem is unlocked and you can look at it's web page. I personally always pop the sky router back on if theres a problem before calling Sky, or they will simply blame everything on the third party router.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to coipu For This Useful Post:

      *skys*the*limit* (09-01-15)

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      843
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      Another way to check your current speed is to click this link:

      Sky Broadband | Find your broadband speed

      Whilst it doesn't show the kbps figures, it does work well and is current. Feel free to bookmark the link.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      *skys*the*limit* (09-01-15)

    12. #9
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      Thats only good if you have a sky hub connected as it pulls it from the router over the lan

    13. #10
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Lede on ECI Modem/pfSense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      530
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts

      Re: Configuring new Asus TR AC68U for my Fibre connection

      I can always tell if speed has changed by my uTorrent speed stats, but after an initial increase in speed when switching to my RT-AC68U it is now rock solid. The parental controls and general detail of the settings have made me extremely happy with this router regardless of the rather high price.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION