Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

    This is a discussion on Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Had fibre connected Friday early afternoon. Having been at work I checked the router about 3 hours later and between ...

    1. #1
      mdex's Avatar
      mdex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114287
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

      Had fibre connected Friday early afternoon. Having been at work I checked the router about 3 hours later and between then and now the connection speed on my router hasn't changed.

      That would be great as I'd love 30meg speed but whenever I do a speed test I'm now only getting around 5!?


      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 29403 kbps 9995 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21.7 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 5.8 dB 6.6 dB

      any reason why it seemingly states incorrectly via the router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      m0rph3us's Avatar
      m0rph3us is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Cisco 887VA
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

      Your router reports your sync speed to the exchange. Which speed test facility are you using?

    4. #3
      mdex's Avatar
      mdex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114287
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

      I'm using Speedtest.net

      I have home plugs between router and pc, could that be a cause of the perceived slowdowns?

      Tried it via my phone and got a speed of 12meg.

      Now thinking I have crappy home plugs. Does attenuation and noise look okay for the quoted speed to be attainable?

    5. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,415
      Thanks
      423
      Thanked 170 Times in 164 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

      Don't do speedtests over wireless (from your phone or your computer) because wifi is subject to so many variables that can make it flakey!

      Always do speedtests over a wired connection, preferably direct to the router. If you get good results, then the issue is poor wifi performance. If you get better results but still not as good as expected, *then* it could be the home plugs.

      My advice is to determine if you have a wifi issue first of all, and then go forward from there.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    6. #5
      mdex's Avatar
      mdex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114287
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

      Ignore me, I'm an idiot.

      Should have known better but was was being lazy.

      Home plugs were a bottleneck, no issues.

      Cheers

    7. #6
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,415
      Thanks
      423
      Thanked 170 Times in 164 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

      So that's all good then...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Installed Friday - Speed test doesn't make router stated speed

      @mdex
      Please update your Profile to reflect your new status.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION