Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4
    Like Tree1Likes

    Replacing sky's new Hub SR102

    This is a discussion on Replacing sky's new Hub SR102 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok this has been asked a few times but not about this new router and I was wandering if I ...

    1. #1
      ccrocks426's Avatar
      ccrocks426 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Replacing sky's new Hub SR102

      Ok this has been asked a few times but not about this new router and I was wandering if I could replace this one with another (better) one. So what I am asking is what steps do I need to take to do it and also what is a good replacement modem and router. I am asking this as I belive you do not get an engineer to come round and is self set-up.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Replacing sky's new Hub SR102

      You have 3 choices. Your response would depend on what you are looking to benefit from by using your own router, your technical ability and budget.


      1. Use the SR102 and a Cable router, setting the SR102 to send al the traffic directly to your cable router using the DMZ Server setting
      2. Purchase a BTO Modem off somewhere such as eBay and also use your own cable router with a customer firmware
      3. Use a router with a built-in VDSL Modem


      Each option has benefits and drawbacks.

      There are guides for each option on this forum. Essentially the first is the simplest to implement but some functions don't work (i.e. using your own DNS address to loop back to your connection).

      The second two both require you to capture the login details from the SR102. This can easily be achieved with Wireshark. Again there are a few guides on this forum to help you here too.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      ccrocks426 (29-03-14)

    5. #3
      ccrocks426's Avatar
      ccrocks426 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing sky's new Hub SR102

      Thank you for that I might as well go down the cable router for now as people don't like me changing the internet at home

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Replacing sky's new Hub SR102

      In that case, pick the cable router that best meets your needs and follow the guide in the link below:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...nk-dir613.html

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION