Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Kail1967

    Fibre Pro Question

    This is a discussion on Fibre Pro Question within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; We have just connected to the sky fibre 40/10 package and getting good speeds of 38/9 which I'm very happy ...

    1. #1
      Kail1967's Avatar
      Kail1967 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hirwaun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fibre Pro Question

      We have just connected to the sky fibre 40/10 package and getting good speeds of 38/9 which I'm very happy with, just got off the phone to sky and they have offered me the pro package for no extra cost but said the speed forecast would be only 54 meg download.
      Signed up for it anyway as even that increase would be daft to turn down when it's costing me no extra, but am i right in thinking that's the system giving the minimum speed and I should and probably will see a higher one?
      If I don't I'm not that bothered as like I say it's costing me no more than I pay now but just seems a little low considering what I'm getting atm

      This is the router stats if it helps.
      Fibre Pro Question-image.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      Could you check what the estimated speed is on the site listed below please?

      https://www.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/main.html

      It will give you the best and worst estimate for FTTC.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      dnpark38's Avatar
      dnpark38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Leeds City Region
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      Quote Originally Posted by Kail1967 View Post
      We have just connected to the sky fibre 40/10 package and getting good speeds of 38/9 which I'm very happy with, just got off the phone to sky and they have offered me the pro package for no extra cost but said the speed forecast would be only 54 meg download.
      Signed up for it anyway as even that increase would be daft to turn down when it's costing me no extra, but am i right in thinking that's the system giving the minimum speed and I should and probably will see a higher one?
      If I don't I'm not that bothered as like I say it's costing me no more than I pay now but just seems a little low considering what I'm getting atm

      This is the router stats if it helps.
      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	173 
Size:	24.8 KB 
ID:	5028
      That's the speed I started possible that in say next 24 hours you will drop slightly as your line gets tested.
      I think a rough guide for the faster fibre might be to double your speed when it settles.
      A good offer you have but after a set period is it a year it will go up I would think. I'm on a 12 month offer right now.

    5. #4
      Kail1967's Avatar
      Kail1967 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hirwaun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      Fibre Pro Question-image.jpg
      Got the above from that link Scubbie thanx so fingers crossed it could be above 60 which after coming from 12 is great enough for me

      - - - Updated - - -

      Fibre has been active now for 2 days and speed seems stable atm, saying that though dnpark38 I'd be happy enough with what your getting.
      Yeah the offer is for 12 months, fingers crossed by that time the price will have dropped to what I'm paying now anyway
      Last edited by Kail1967; 27-03-14 at 08:51 PM.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      Provided that you are using a VDSL Filtered faceplate and you have your router plugged into it, I would go for the 69.9mb down and 19.9mb up.

      If you do not already have a VDSL filtered faceplate, please please please get one ordered ASAP. You'll need an NTE5 Master Socket as well though.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      dnpark38's Avatar
      dnpark38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Leeds City Region
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      Quote Originally Posted by Kail1967 View Post

      Got the above from that link Scubbie thanx so fingers crossed it could be above 60 which after coming from 12 is great enough for me

      - - - Updated - - -

      Fibre has been active now for 2 days and speed seems stable atm, saying that though dnpark38 I'd be happy enough with what your getting.
      Yeah the offer is for 12 months, fingers crossed by that time the price will have dropped to what I'm paying now anyway
      The Link gives your address away you might want to delete it.

    8. #7
      Kail1967's Avatar
      Kail1967 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hirwaun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      Thx dnpark38 image edited .
      Scubbie, the router is connected via the supplied filter into the master socket, wouldn't that be good enough?

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      If you have no telephone extensions, then it should be fine to use the micrifilters supplied with the Sky routers, as shown in the picture below.

      Fibre Pro Question-microfilter-large.jpg

      The VDSL filtered faceplate is by far a better product. If you have any extensions or a burglar alarm, then IMHO it is essential.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      Kail1967's Avatar
      Kail1967 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hirwaun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      Well it connected fine last night to the new speeds, speed tests so far are showing we are getting 76 down and 18 up.
      Scubbie likes this.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro Question

      This is good.

      Do keep an eye on things though.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION