Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Moving House

    This is a discussion on Moving House within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is there anyway I can find out what sort of fibre optic speed I will get before I move house. ...

    1. #1
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving House

      Is there anyway I can find out what sort of fibre optic speed I will get before I move house. I've tried a few sites but they all require a phone number for the fibre optic test and obviously I don't have a phone yet as I don't live in the house.

      (Yes I'm moving to where I can get the best speed)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Moving House

      When I moved I just entered the post code & house number on BT's (Infinity) site? The estimate was 100% correct after it settled down too.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Moving House

      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving House

      I think your confused I can't use a phone number to a house that I don't live in yet.

    6. #5
      Nudger's Avatar
      Nudger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worksop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving House

      He means enter your postcode and actual door number of your new house not your telephone number.

      HTH.

    7. #6
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Moving House

      You can do an address check on Sky's site too.

      The BT Wholesale checker is pretty good too. Just use the 'Address checker' link

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Moving House

      Quote Originally Posted by Nudger View Post
      He means enter your postcode and actual door number of your new house not your telephone number.

      HTH.
      I do indeed!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Moving House

      Click the 'I don't have a phone' on the Infinity link.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION