Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Broadband Unlimited > Fibre Unlimited Hub Query

    This is a discussion on Broadband Unlimited > Fibre Unlimited Hub Query within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Current have the SR101 for 'normal' Sky Broadband, but have recently ordered Sky Fibre Unlimited and Sky have today sent ...

    1. #1
      DigiBoxer's Avatar
      DigiBoxer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121 Beacon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 + Apple Airport Extreme
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Unlimited > Fibre Unlimited Hub Query

      Current have the SR101 for 'normal' Sky Broadband, but have recently ordered Sky Fibre Unlimited and Sky have today sent my new SR102 Fibre Hub out in the post (Self Install).

      My query really is, know the SR101 and SR102 are virtually identical, and both work for 'normal' broadband, is there any harm in plugging my SR102 hub in before my Fibre gets activated, as presume it'd still work for my current ADSL broadband? On Fibre activation day, would just be a matter of rebooting the router to pick up the new connection/settings etc?

      Any issues/danger of doing this? Or should I just leave the SR101 plugged in and just do the full swap to the SR102 on Fibre day?! (Just thought it'd save a bit of faffing about on live day!)

      To save a lot of hassle too when changing router, can I just rename my SSID & Password to match the current SR101 details, so as not to have to muck about granting all my current devices access to a new router/SSID/password etc?

      Thanks in advance!!


      Sky Fibre Unlimited - Connected at 39,998 kbps ↓ / 9,998 kbps ↑
      Previous Sky Broadband Unlimited Speed 9,215 kbps ↓ / 848 kbps ↑


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skooby's Avatar
      skooby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kirkcaldy
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband Unlimited > Fibre Unlimited Hub Query

      Basically, everything u said is fine to do. When it changes over to fibre you dont evrn have to reboot the router.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to skooby For This Useful Post:

      DigiBoxer (08-03-14)

    5. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Broadband Unlimited > Fibre Unlimited Hub Query

      The warnings on the packaging sound pretty dire ("Do not connect until.....").

      Really there is no issue in this instance as you are already with Sky Broadband.

      If you have been switching from another provider to sky, then the case would be quite different.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      DigiBoxer (08-03-14)

    7. #4
      DigiBoxer's Avatar
      DigiBoxer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121 Beacon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 + Apple Airport Extreme
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Unlimited > Fibre Unlimited Hub Query

      Thank you both for the replies. I thought that was all the case, just glad to have mind put at rest and have it all confirmed :-)
      And as chance would have it - as I'm writing this, the doorbell rang and the SR102 has just arrived in the mail, so I will sort that out later and see how I get on. Many thanks!


      Sky Fibre Unlimited - Connected at 39,998 kbps ↓ / 9,998 kbps ↑
      Previous Sky Broadband Unlimited Speed 9,215 kbps ↓ / 848 kbps ↑

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION