Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Using the DMZ to supplement the SkyHub (Sr101)

    This is a discussion on Using the DMZ to supplement the SkyHub (Sr101) within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Have an Sr101 on fibre. Works well for us as a family... Except for the fact that the elder ...

    1. #1
      icornish's Avatar
      icornish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using the DMZ to supplement the SkyHub (Sr101)

      Hi,

      Have an Sr101 on fibre. Works well for us as a family...
      Except for the fact that the elder children are wanting to access internet...

      I want to use OpenDNS and set some restrictions, and also set a curfew. Whilst I can work out how to set curfews, I can't work out how to change DNS settings on the hub (could do it on the device, but my children are smarter than that).

      I could go down the route of replacing the router and doing the wireshark stuff.

      BUT, I have a nice new netgear router which does support the stuff I want to do. Can I put this into the Sky Hub's DMZ ? If so, does any one have any instructions or gotchas to watch out for ?

      Ian


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kman28's Avatar
      kman28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Banbridge (NIBB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
      As far as I know u can only change the dns settings per device and not directly on the sr101.

      This should help u set up ur netgear router

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=42110

      And it's the first post has the guide.
      Sky Fiber 40/10 Connection - DL 39998 - UL 10000

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using the DMZ to supplement the SkyHub (Sr101)

      Be aware that the http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...nk-dir613.html method will only work with a non-ADSL router. If your Netgear is an ADSL router it will not work in this way.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      kman28's Avatar
      kman28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Banbridge (NIBB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
      Sorry isitme I should have pointed that out
      Sky Fiber 40/10 Connection - DL 39998 - UL 10000

    6. #5
      icornish's Avatar
      icornish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using the DMZ to supplement the SkyHub (Sr101)

      I set it up, and it seems to work a dream... will let it bed in a few days before I unleash the children onto it.
      FYI, its a Netgear WNR2200.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION