Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

    This is a discussion on From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, First post so please be kind as I'm not exactly up to date with fibre tech and terminology. Long ...

    1. #1
      vannisteroy's Avatar
      vannisteroy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      Hi,

      First post so please be kind as I'm not exactly up to date with fibre tech and terminology.

      Long story short I was with BE on their ADSL2 service of up to 15mb but only got 4mb. Since Sky bought them out and offered me a very good deal I decided to go with their 40mb fibre unlimited service since that would be the only way to push up my speeds. I was told I could get up to 58mb but I chose the 40mb package.

      Now today was my activation day when I went live. So far the connection keeps dropping every 10 to 20 mins or so. The worst part is the line speed is just under 4mb. So my question is.....is this normal for the first day? I understand that these things can sometimes take time to speed up over the course of two weeks but I hadnt expected to be that low. Am I jumping the gun and should sit tight and wait it out or should I get on the phone to Sky support?

      Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

      P.S. It went live at about 3pm.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Piston's Avatar
      Piston is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk Fibre Large
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      I would leave it untill tomorrow before contacting them. They usually say it can take up to midnight on your go-live day.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      You are on the start up connection speed.

      DLM will start around 3-4 days after your activation date.

      It will be pointless calling Sky before day 4 has completed.

      Once it starts, DLM will automatically retrain your connection speed over a period of up to 10 days, but will often complete before then. If can take up to 20 days, but that is rare.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      vannisteroy's Avatar
      vannisteroy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      Thanks Scubbie and Piston.

      I'll wait it out. Its still 4mb this morning but hopefully things will improve soon.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      Are you sure you are on Fibre? As Scubbie suggests, it looks like you may be on ADSL, not yet transferred to the fibre service. It would be very unusual for fibre speed to start so low. Post the stats from your router and we will advise.

      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      vannisteroy's Avatar
      vannisteroy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      I'm 100% certain I'm on fibre which is why I dont get why my readings are so low.

      Thanks for that link to get my stats. My sky hub is an SR102.

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 25:23:46
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN MER 2612715 3637227 0 92 788 25:16:28
      LAN Up 2395197 1811304 0 102 0 25:23:46
      WLAN Up 1356028 853472 0 681502 20654 25:23:23

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4153 kbps 929 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.1 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 5.9 dB 6.6 dB

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      Yes, that looks like fibre. How are you connected? Through a filter to the master socket, with everything else plugged into the system running through a filter? If you are can you remove the faceplate and plug a filter directly into the Test socket and take the stats from there. If you are using an extension, please unplug and plug direct into the master socket.

      Ultimately you would be better with a vDSL plate on the master socket. This is the problem with self install which never arose with an engineer install.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Yes, that looks like fibre. How are you connected? Through a filter to the master socket, with everything else plugged into the system running through a filter? If you are can you remove the faceplate and plug a filter directly into the Test socket and take the stats from there. If you are using an extension, please unplug and plug direct into the master socket.

      Ultimately you would be better with a vDSL plate on the master socket. This is the problem with self install which never arose with an engineer install.
      Looks like plain old ADSLx to me! Low upload and high attenuation are the giveaway factors. Seems like the changeover at the cab or exchange hasn't gone to plan.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      Looks like plain old ADSLx to me!
      I don't think so. The zero upstream attenuation and the start speeds are too high to be ADSL.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Wattsj's Avatar
      Wattsj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From BE to Sky Fibre and so far not so great

      Hi Vannisteroy,

      What was the outcome of this, did your speed improve?

      I'm also on Be Broadband and thinking of coming over to Sky Fibre.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION