Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

    This is a discussion on New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, Currently waiting for my broadband to switch over from DSL to the Fibre Pro package after my cabinet ...

    1. #1
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Hi there,

      Currently waiting for my broadband to switch over from DSL to the Fibre Pro package after my cabinet went live on Friday. I should get good speeds as I'm 100m at the most away from the cabinet.

      Anyway, Sky are in the process of sending the self-install SR102 out to me, but I'm debating whether to use it, or to buy a hacked HG612 and pair it with an Asus N66U.

      I live in a medium size flat so no problems with wireless coverage anywhere. I use homeplugs for my main PC, sky box, xbox etc.

      I've always used my own routers (currently use a Netgear DGN2000) but if the SR102 is stable, fast enough etc then I'd consider using that.

      In your opinions would the SR102 suit my needs and be totally stable etc - or is it worth upgrading to the Asus?

      Thanks for any help in advance!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Asus every time as far as I'm concerned.

    4. #3
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      If I were to grab a HG612, is it just a case of plugging it in - with all of the required settings etc going into the Asus router?

      There are some ready unlocked 612's on eBay that I'd probably grab for about 35.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      As a suggestion, why not set up everything with the SR102 initially?

      Use the Asus router to control your LAN and set the DMZ Server on the SR102 to send all the traffic to the Asus?

      If this works fine, then you'll save yourself the cost of the BTO Modem.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      davejsb (12-02-14)

    7. #5
      essa's Avatar
      essa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      davejsb so which way are going, going to use the stock sr102 or going the asus route.

      Scubbie the method you have mentioned would this work or is this theoretical, i mean can this be done on the sr102.

      what is the function the DMZ server, how does it work when you say send traffic to the asus router. im in the same boat has davejsb i could buy BTO modem HG612 an dpair it up with the asus rt-ac68u but if ur methods works then i would save 30 quid.

      would i get reduced speed if use one of the methods or get any problems.

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Speed would not be affected. The SR102 router will connect in the normal way and pass on the traffic directly to the Asus.

      By using the DMZ Server setting, any and all port forwards can be set up on the Asus in the normal manner. All you Internet traffic will go straight through the Sky Hub SR102 to the Asus router and it will control your LAN.

      The SR102 effectively becomes invisible.

      Following the PMs on this topic, I've sent you a link to the DIR615 thread. This works just fine.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #7
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      I took the plunge yesterday and ordered a BTO modem (cost 20) and the N66U.

      My SR102 should be here in the next few days, that's been dispatched too, so looking forward to tinkering about with wireshark and getting it all up and running once my fibre is activated.

    10. #8
      essa's Avatar
      essa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      which BTO model did order and version no?

    11. #9
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      The HG612 mate, version 3B.

    12. #10
      essa's Avatar
      essa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      off ebay?, im struggling to find one Dave.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION