Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

    This is a discussion on New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just do a search for HG612, a few come up, no problem....

    1. #11
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Just do a search for HG612, a few come up, no problem.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      essa's Avatar
      essa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      i have but they don't mention the version no ooh well i give it go .

    4. #13
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Received my hub this morning. My fibre activation day is Tuesday, so just over a week from ordering. Already extracted the password etc from the hub using Wireshark.

      Bring on 18th February!

    5. #14
      cjm1979's Avatar
      cjm1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYBAT Batley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box x2
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Quote Originally Posted by davejsb View Post
      I took the plunge yesterday and ordered a BTO modem (cost 20) and the N66U.

      My SR102 should be here in the next few days, that's been dispatched too, so looking forward to tinkering about with wireshark and getting it all up and running once my fibre is activated.
      Whats the advantage of using the modem with the Asus rather than using the SR102 with the Asus?
      Just wondered because im looking at getting another router

    6. #15
      essa's Avatar
      essa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      hey cjm1979 from what i have read the SR102 cant be put in modem only mode their have been request put in to sky to allows this option.

    7. #16
      cjm1979's Avatar
      cjm1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYBAT Batley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box x2
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Quote Originally Posted by essa View Post
      hey cjm1979 from what i have read the SR102 cant be put in modem only mode their have been request put in to sky to allows this option.
      Sorry, what i meant was how Scubbie mentioned to do in post #6. Thats what i was already thinking of doing

    8. #17
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Fibre - SR102 vs HG612&N66U

      Quote Originally Posted by cjm1979 View Post
      Whats the advantage of using the modem with the Asus rather than using the SR102 with the Asus?
      Just wondered because im looking at getting another router
      Simply because I like tinkering with stuff really

      The unlocked OR modem will allow me to see my line stats, and that sort of stuff. I don't expect there'll be any actual performance benefit at all.

      What would people suggest I do on the activation day; do I unplug my ADSL2 router and plug the OR modem and router combo straight in for when my connection is switched over? Or do I unplug the ADSL2 router, wait till I get back from working all day, then connect then connect the modem/router when the switchover will have been made?

      Also, I've read that the N66 may take up to 30 minutes to connect. This won't affect me DLM-wise will it?

      I think, if I understand correctly, as long as the modem stays connected and switched on, it won't matter if the router is authenticated or not?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION