Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By gareth2007

    Sky Fibre Pro

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Pro within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please can some one help? I have hadSky Fibre today, I'm connected at 39998 with Line Attenuation 19db and more ...

    1. #1
      gareth2007's Avatar
      gareth2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY SR102/Billion 8880nl
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Fibre Pro

      Please can some one help?

      I have hadSky Fibre today, I'm connected at 39998 with Line Attenuation 19db and more importantly a noise margin of 21.4 db.

      I want the PRO service, Sky are only estimating 41.6 mb, yet the BT checker is saying 48-68mb. Anyone have any ideas if Sky are way off, or what kind of speed I will get? thanks....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jkhl's Avatar
      jkhl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
      Sadly, it doesn't matter if sky are way off. If Sky are predicting only 41.6mb, you wont have the option to upgrade to Pro in order to find out - as I have found!

      Sent from my Lumia 1520 using Tapatalk

    4. #3
      gareth2007's Avatar
      gareth2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY SR102/Billion 8880nl
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      I took the plunge on Tuesday a day after my 40mb service, the guy said I could go back to regular, if I wasn't happy, 14 day cooling off period. So glad I did, BT said 68mb. once upgrade to PRO I had the full whack connected at 79998 and d/l speed around 75/6mb, well chuffed. SNR is around 9db to 6db fluctuation. LA is at 19db.
      Scubbie likes this.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      It will nearly always connect first at the maximum speed, then reduce as the line is trained. Don't be surprised if you drop a bit. It looks like Sky were well out with their estimate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      278
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by gareth2007 View Post
      Please can some one help?

      I have hadSky Fibre today, I'm connected at 39998 with Line Attenuation 19db and more importantly a noise margin of 21.4 db.

      I want the PRO service, Sky are only estimating 41.6 mb, yet the BT checker is saying 48-68mb. Anyone have any ideas if Sky are way off, or what kind of speed I will get? thanks....
      I had exactly the same. Sky told me I could have it for 10 a month extra but I'd only get 42Mb (so it was 10 for 2Mb) whereas BT had previously told me 65Mb.

      I've only paid for basic at the mo but Im also wondering...

      No idea what sky are playing at but it seems they dont want to sell PRO. Weird.

      BTW. Slightly OT but whats regarded as good for line att and noise margin?

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by jkhl View Post
      Sadly, it doesn't matter if sky are way off. If Sky are predicting only 41.6mb, you wont have the option to upgrade to Pro in order to find out - as I have found!

      Sent from my Lumia 1520 using Tapatalk
      Why not? Sky told me if I wanted to waste 10 a month on 2Mb extra I could. Did they refuse you?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    7. #6
      gatecrasher3's Avatar
      gatecrasher3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      I got an estimated 66 from Sky and 79 from BT. Upgraded to Fibre Pro and I get 75 which I am more than happy with.

    8. #7
      jkhl's Avatar
      jkhl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by psychocandy View Post
      I had exactly the same. Sky told me I could have it for 10 a month extra but I'd only get 42Mb (so it was 10 for 2Mb) whereas BT had previously told me 65Mb.



      I've only paid for basic at the mo but Im also wondering...



      No idea what sky are playing at but it seems they dont want to sell PRO. Weird.



      BTW. Slightly OT but whats regarded as good for line att and noise margin?

      - - - Updated - - -



      Why not? Sky told me if I wanted to waste 10 a month on 2Mb extra I could. Did they refuse you?



      Yep. Got told that it was not available on my line!





      Sent from my Lumia 1520 using Tapatalk

    9. #8
      gareth2007's Avatar
      gareth2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY SR102/Billion 8880nl
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro

      Sky's estimates are a bit off. After 10 days mine is now on 71300, it dropped last week down to the mid 60's and since then, every two days it's been reconnecting at about 2-3 meg more than before. I'm hoping it'll get back to 79998, as the la is constant at 19db and the snr stays at 6db all the time...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION