Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13
    Like Tree1Likes

    Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

    This is a discussion on Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Here's a thinkbroadband monitor snapshot of my Sky Fibre (40/10) connection. I notice a few periods of instability and one ...

    1. #1
      mrpetrov's Avatar
      mrpetrov is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      Here's a thinkbroadband monitor snapshot of my Sky Fibre (40/10) connection. I notice a few periods of instability and one large instance of packet loss. What does this look like to you folks?

      thinkbroadband :: Broadband Quality Monitor

      Incidentally, my phone line is now dead (even from a master socket) with just "clicking" on the voice line - but sky fibre still works...how weird is that?

      Thanks for any help!

      P.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      If your telephone has a problem then give Sky a friendly call.

      You'll need to use a mobile and if you ask they can call you back.

      Whether it is related to your Internet issue isn't so hard. A known issue with ADSL connections is when one of the copper wires breaks the phone dies and the broadband speed halves. I don't know how this issue would manifest itself on a VDSL (Sky Fibre) connection, hence why I would call Sky.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      mrpetrov's Avatar
      mrpetrov is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      Thanks a lot Scubbie for the quick response.

      I managed to get through to Sky with my "friendly" voice on. They confirmed after a line test that there is a fault on my line, so they've booked an engineer visit to the exchange. Oddly my broadband throughput has stayed at 37.7meg (40/10) line, but my line is rated to 80meg. I'll post back here once the line is fixed!

      P.
      Scubbie likes this.

    5. #4
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      I'd say it's normal for the fibre side to still work if the fault is between the exchange and the cabs as the voice circuit still travels over good old copper back to the exchange, so the fibre and voice handovers are separate and issues with one shouldn't affect the other .
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      Quote Originally Posted by Mystic Eddy View Post
      I'd say it's normal for the fibre side to still work if the fault is between the exchange and the cabs as the voice circuit still travels over good old copper back to the exchange, so the fibre and voice handovers are separate and issues with one shouldn't affect the other .
      I agree that this is entirely possible.

      FTTC does share the same copper cable from your home to the street cabinet though, so if there happens to be a fault there, then it could potentially mess up both voice and broadband.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      mrpetrov's Avatar
      mrpetrov is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      Well I'm into day 4 and line is still dead (no clicking even, just blank). Also, my Fibre broadband has been deteriorating.

      My pings have gone from 4ms a couple days after installation to about 16ms now (ie about a week or ten days later). My noise margin started at about 12.2db and is now at 18.7db. I thought the speed was meant to get better, not worse, after the training period?!

      Can someone suggest what's going on with my broadband at least?

      Many thanks.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      When is the BTO Engineer due?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      I thought the speed was meant to get better, not worse, after the training period?!
      I don't think that is the case with Fibre. It was my understanding that unlike ADSL, it started at the highest possible speed then trained down to the best stable speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      mrpetrov's Avatar
      mrpetrov is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      When is the BTO Engineer due?
      Tomorrow (Saturday) between 1-6pm. But he's here in connection with the phone line (nothwithstanding Sky confirmed the issue was with the line, not with house wiring), and apparently he's not "broadband trained" so invariably won't be able to comment on the deterioration in pings on my line.

      P.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss - Normal or Not? Dead Voice Line, But Sky Fibre Works?

      No problem.

      BTO does have different grades of engineers like that. I am guessing that the first level are the ones who do the phone lines, next ADSL broadband, finally Fibre.

      There are other levels for other tasks, but those three are the more common ones we hear about.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION