Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Fibre Today question

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Today question within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My Activation date is today I am moving from standard broadband to the fibre optic. I spoke to sky today ...

    1. #1
      jonfun's Avatar
      jonfun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Fibre Today question

      My Activation date is today I am moving from standard broadband to the fibre optic. I spoke to sky today and they said I can set up the hub it will still work with my standard broadband and then start working straight away with the fibre.

      So my question is how do I know when the fibre as kicked in? They have until midnight tonight to get it working.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Today question

      I am awaiting my new Black hub which has the modem built in so i assume if you have this it will just switch over. To get a definite answer maybe isitme or scubbie will answer.

    4. #3
      jonfun's Avatar
      jonfun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Today question

      When the hub comes it will say your Activation date on the box, mine is today but I don't think I am getting fibre speeds yet.

    5. #4
      Crashst3r's Avatar
      Crashst3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Taunton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Today question

      Its true, if your on self install with the SR102 (black hub), it will work with ADSL and fibre, so if you have set it up already its fine and when the fibre activation has been done via the cabinet you router will swtich to the fibre side of the modem..

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Crashst3r For This Useful Post:

      RADZ1973 (17-01-14)

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Today question

      Sorry if this is a little late, I'm posting it in case someone else should come across this thread.

      As jonfun has correctly stated, you can plug in the SR102 straight away if you are on one of Sky's ADSL products.

      Quote Originally Posted by jonfun View Post
      So my question is how do I know when the fibre as kicked in? They have until midnight tonight to get it working.
      Your Internet connection will drop for a period of time. This can be anything from 10 minutes to a couple of hours, but most find that it is 30 minutes to an hour.

      When your connection is back up you should be able to navigate to your router and check it's connection stats. They should be considerably different from when you were on Fibre and close to the estimate that Sky gave you.

      Click this link: http://192.168.0.1/sky_router_status.html

      (You will need to enter the router's log in details which will be: Username: admin and Password : sky (note that they are both lowercase letters only - you can change the password. Make a good note of it if you do)

      You should see the connection speed on that screen, but if you scroll down to the bottom of the page, click the button 'Connection Statisctics' an a small pop up window will appear with all the current connection stats.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION