Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Help and advice needed using TP Wireless access Point

    This is a discussion on Help and advice needed using TP Wireless access Point within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm thinking of buying a TP-Link TL-WA901ND Wireless access Point. What i need to know is, does it work and ...

    1. #1
      dasmith's Avatar
      dasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHAX 01904
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help and advice needed using TP Wireless access Point

      I'm thinking of buying a TP-Link TL-WA901ND Wireless access Point. What i need to know is, does it work and is it compatible with the Sky SR101 Hub, is it easy to set up and get the Hub talking to the AP? has anyone got experience of using both?

      My Hub is on the ground floor and plan to run an ethernet cable from the Hub to the WA901 that i will put in the loft. I wont be using PoE as i have a socket in the loft. The need to do this comes from having a 5 bed house and some bedrooms are struggling to get good signal. I have the new Sky Booster set up and plan to give that a week or so but have a feeling its still not good enough from what others in the house are saying.

      Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Help and advice needed using TP Wireless access Point

      It is a WiF n device, so should work just fine.

      However, in the interests of saving a few pennies, why bot give the Sky Booster a try first?

      Sky Wireless Booster - Helps extend your Wi-Fi signal even further

      BTW: It is free!

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help and advice needed using TP Wireless access Point

      Quote Originally Posted by dasmith View Post
      ............I have the new Sky Booster set up and plan to give that a week or so but have a feeling its still not good enough from what others in the house are saying.
      .....
      He already has one Scubbie.

      Unlike me who has been trying since the 27th to get it to show in my offers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Help and advice needed using TP Wireless access Point

      Ok, I missed that.

      As for yourself, there may be an issue with recent changes to the Sky database for some people. These should be resolved over the next week.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION