Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24
    Like Tree1Likes

    How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

    This is a discussion on How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, back on ADSL I used to be able to use MAC address filtering to prevent my troublesome child from ...

    1. #1
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Hello, back on ADSL I used to be able to use MAC address filtering to prevent my troublesome child from accessing the internet outside of scheduled hours.

      Although he is a clever sod that uses linux and will bypass it at some point, I'd like to do the same again while he is attending college.

      So is there a guide to how to set it up on the SR101 with Skys firmware? (I used DGteam before).

      Then once setup and working I can monitor the network for him spoofing others etc.

      Cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Filtering system on the Sky Hub SR101 isn't particularly friendly. You can set it up to block everyone except one specific MAC Address according to a schedule, but this may not be what you are looking for.

      The best bet would be for you to sign up to the Sky parental control system. I believe that it can be setup on a schedule, but you will need to check first.

      However this will prevent everyone from accessing any unwanted sites through your broadband connection, even if you reset the router, use iOS, Linux, Windows or anything else.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Cheers, but I want everyone else to have access (there will be bloodshed if not - and it will be mine) while 2 PC's are blocked during the night.

      So I don't think Sky's thingy will do.

      I'll start with gathering macs for every device in the household, add them as set IP's then turn of DHCP, then set an access list for wireless and permit the known IP's, block the errant one using a schedule.

      If he spoofs one of the others then there will be clashes and I will warn the others to be aware of this.

      Its about all I can do, apart from put a timer at the back of the sockets in his room to knock his power off

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      There was another member who was attempting to block Internet access after a certain time of night.

      The teenager simply reset the router, wiping all his settings, whilst he was asleep.

      A suitable safe might be required to place your son's devices in overnight if he cannot be trusted to not use them overnight.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      I have just thought of another option.

      If you were to use a different (i.e. non-Sky) router with "Guest WiFi" you could set it up so that this is disabled at certain times.

      Simply provide your son with the details for the Guest account and ensure that no one gives him access to the main WiFi.

      Since you have a Sky ADSL connection, you should be able to use a non-Sky router now (check on this forum for more details) using the PPPoA settings. Several of the current Netgear routers offer this feature, so too will other brands.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Thats a good point, I could always plug the old router in the back and give him MAC based access to that, and only him and only that 1 mac, that 1 IP and hence the schedule should work.

      ROFLMAO.... He wont be able to reset it, we would hear thenoise he would make climbing over my crap to get to the router under the stairs lol.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Test it first as I'm not 100% that method would work, but certainly worth trying.

      If you use both the old and new routers, I would suggest that you ensure that he doesn't have the WiFi details for the current one already on his devices.

      If he does, simply change them now.

      Generally I recommend changing the default details of a Sky router anyway. The default settings are something like:

      Wireless name (SSID) : SKYxxxxx (where x is either a number or capital letter)
      Wireless Password : 8 capital letters

      You can change them both. For the SSID I don't recommend the use of naughty words, something to identify you by the family name, house name/number or any other obvious characteristics. This is simply because some people like to switch off their routers when they are away, for example. Alternatively a nosey person may wish to target you specifically.

      As for the password, anything easy enough to type in, with a minimum of 8 characters.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      That method seemed to work last time.

      I always change the SSID etc, usually to something daft like "DSS Observation Team 3B" or "TVL detection van 7c".
      Currently its something like "Dont park on the zebra crossing zigzags"
      Scubbie likes this.

    10. #9
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Well I started this the wrong way, blocked it by schedule rather than allowed lol.

      Once reversed it worked.
      But he has just been down complaining it went off at 1pm, yet he's within the schedule time frame.
      Remove the firewall rule and his internet works.
      So it needs further testing.

      (Seems he has not been as clever as he suggests as he has not been able to bypass it yet).

      And the SR101 interface is the biggest crock of poo I have ever seen in a router, its always hanging up and needing a page refresh, blank white pages are normal.


      By the way, I create a service to use in the firewall rule - I take it that includes ports 1-65555 etc?
      And do I also need to create an inbound rule for the filtering to work? or can I leave it as an outbound one only?

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      You should only need to create one rule.

      If a computer requires information, the traffic will flow both out and in.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION