Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

    This is a discussion on Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by gorebrush Not really, no. QoS is a sticky tape solution to low bandwidth. There's really no need ...

    1. #21
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Not really, no.

      QoS is a sticky tape solution to low bandwidth. There's really no need for QoS on lines that are 10+ Mbps if there is no heavy downloading going on.
      Although it is perhaps true that QoS is less important on a fast connection, it an help with streaming media on a busy connection irrespective of the bandwidth. With increasing speeds comes increasing use, so QoS will be there.

      However the Sky routers do have some form of QoS that is hidden from our eyes. They do prioritise video streams over WiFi for example.

      Quote Originally Posted by coipu View Post
      I bought a tp-link cheap router for 29 quid from Argos that blows sky's out of water and has everything I need. Later I'll upgrade to a 60 quid one with gigabit ports if my fttc ever gets the pro service available of speeds increase for the the other reasons they are trying. Just don't get me started about how much I don't like Sky, BUT compared to the other alternatives they are ok.
      Even though I only have an 80mb download and 20mb upload, I do benefit from running a 1Gbit LAN. Simply transferring/backing up/restoring content to from my NAS is greatly enhanced with the use of a 1Gbit LAN.

      The current bottlenecks for me are:


      • Internet speed
      • WiFi (sure it's 300mb/s, but in practise that translates to around 150mb/s each way)
      • Hard Drive speed (I frequently max out my new laptop)
      • The Human interface


      The first three can be resolved, but all cost more money and for now I am pleased with what I have. As for the last, sure I can type reasonably quickly, but the computer will always be quicker.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      BT Home Hub 5 review:

      BT Home Hub 5 review

      Sky must not be bothered at all by BT if they do not bring out a better device than the Sky Hub.

      Sky will be a laughing stock!!

    4. #23
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      I suspect that someone within the BSkyB organisation is working on the next version of the Sky Hub. What it will look like, it's specifications and when it will be made available are not yet known.

      In the mean time I can only hope that someone has listened to the comments on the forums, on the telephones and any other source of feedback that they get with regards to the routers.

      Looking at the Sky kit in general, there is a theme: Keep it simple, uncomplicated and something that any age group can use.

      The theme currently lacks anything which would satisfy someone with technical knowledge.

      Another area where people without any technical knowledge is successful is the purchase of tablets, desktop computers and laptops. Take a look at just how many people purchase something which looks really fast, but lacks the punch when ti comes to WiFi.

      A Toshiba Laptop I bought 3 years back came with an adaptor which supported 150mbps on a paired channel (connects at 72mbps on the Sky Hub). No support for the 5GHz frequency. A reconditioned Asus laptop I bought earlier this year only supported 65mbps on the 2.4GHz channel, yet has a 1Gbit LAN port.

      Many other new laptops in the shops do not support the 5GHz channels and have "poor" WiFi adaptors installed as standard.

      I changed the adaptors in my own laptops and have been happier for it.

      Many tablets and smart phones support 65mbps on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels too.

      It is therefore pointless for most people to ever have a router capable of running faster than 144mbps, but many would appreciate 300mbps on a router.

      However, personally I do believe that the public are being short changed by everyone. The cost difference between an adaptor which supports 65mbps and one that supports 300mbps on dual channels is not huge for a manufacturer. The technology for routers to work well with 1Gbit LAN ports and 300mbps WiFi has been around for several years now.

      By making all this the minimum standard would push up prices by a couple of pounds, but would improve the experience of a lot of people.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      Sky are at least accepting that people can use their own routers, this is confirmed in the latest T & Cs.

      Sky Terms and Conditions - Broadband

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      So with the poor choice of Sky router not looking to imminently change, what are the other options?

      Personally I would want a single device (vdsl modem and combined wireless router) although I appreciate the benefits of having the 2 separate.

      With excellent Wireless AC/N and 4 port gigabit.

      After that, the rest for me isn't too important. I guess USB ports for the addition of a HDD and Printer would be useful but not essential. So is there anything out there?

      While Sky do seem to allow the use of your own equipment, it still isn't easy or for the feint hearted to try and extract the credentials for their Sky kit.

    7. #26
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      I am hoping that Sky will make a real positive change an allow better support for those who wish to use their own routers.

      Personally I would love Sky to provide some simple login process for people to use their own routers, whether it is on an ADSL or VDSL connection.

      Other providers already do this, so why can't Sky?

      As for the choice of router, currently a popular solution is to use custom firmwares. These are good but often mess up specific functions that a router had to start with.

      In my case, with the WNDR3800, the WiFi didn't connect at the correct speed and the USB port didn't work correctly.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #27
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      I'm tempted with the Airport Extreme..... still requires the separate modem though.

      I'm guessing Sky only provide the v2 hub and you no-longer have the option of getting the separate modem?

      I still can't order fibre yet though. Openreach have confirmed that the cab is now customer ready so I'm just waiting for the ISPs to play catch up.

    9. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      Yes you could use the AE. The BTO Modems are available through eBay if you want one of them.

      Sky only provide the Sky Hub SR102 now for new Fibre installations.

      Here's hoping that you can order yours soon.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #29
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      Well at the current rate there is every chance that Sky will actually release an updated router. The cab has been ready for weeks now. I really want a one device solution. Got all my wiring and kit ready to replace my external master socket with an internal one.

      If I go for a separate modem then I'll just take the existing openreach cable into the kitchen then cat6 it around to the router location. If I go for the one device then I'll extend the openreach cable around to the back of the house.

      I've already got an 8 port switch by my TV and have run out of ports so really need the router there too. To be fair, half of my internet enabled hifi kit never uses the internet but I like it all connected up and prefer wired over wifi where possible.

    11. #30
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Will Sky build a better hub than the SR102?

      Sky Hub (SR102) review

      surely sky will now look into producing a higher spec version!!!

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION