Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme

    No sky fibre

    This is a discussion on No sky fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I must be the unluckiest person when comes to fibre. My exchange is enabled as are all the cabinets around ...

    1. #1
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      No sky fibre

      I must be the unluckiest person when comes to fibre. My exchange is enabled as are all the cabinets around me bar one.All my friends around me on 2,4 8. meg all get it i am 300 yards away from the exchange on 17 meg but can't due to openreach and the local council arguing about the cabinet


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RhystT21's Avatar
      RhystT21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No sky fibre

      Could be worse mate, Where i am no fibre and the best speed I'm getting is 2.8 meg.

    4. #3
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No sky fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by RhystT21 View Post
      Could be worse mate, Where i am no fibre and the best speed I'm getting is 2.8 meg.
      True M8. if that is the fastest you can get why are you on unlimited

    5. #4
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      No sky fibre

      On sky broadband it is not the package that influences your speed just how much monthly usage you have so being on unlimited will provide the top speed available just the same as the lite package but there is no limit to the usage allowance.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: No sky fibre

      There are many small groups of homes in the same situation as yourself.

      At least you have identified where the delay is in your case. You might wish to contact the local council to find out, through the Freedom of Information, what is going on and why it is being delayed.

      Search on-line first to check the planning applications. Not all cabinets require planning, but it is worth checking.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No sky fibre

      I thought the lite package was cheaper that is why thought on these speeds it very unlikely he would go over his limit

    8. #7
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No sky fibre

      It's not the planning there was talk about moving the cabinet due to road works. the local council says the cabinet is not going to be moved and they have informed openreach who know nothing about it.this was after having a chat with the sky fibre people

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: No sky fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by Hedgehog1979 View Post
      On sky broadband it is not the package that influences your speed just how much monthly usage you have so being on unlimited will provide the top speed available just the same as the lite package but there is no limit to the usage allowance.
      What on earth do you mean?

      The only Sky Broadband products which have a monthly download limit are the Connect and Home Lite products. The Connect product sffers badly when people go over their daily limit, but Home Lite users get a couple of warning letters before they are upgraded to the Unlimited product.

      None of the Fibre products or the Broadband Unlimited product has any traffic management and the connection speeds are never slowed down because someone is using it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No sky fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by rasp54 View Post
      I thought the lite package was cheaper that is why thought on these speeds it very unlikely he would go over his limit
      You think so? Download one HD movie and the 2Gb allowance is gone. It may take all night to download it, but it can be done.

      What on earth do you mean?
      I think HH's punctuation may be miss-leading. Maybe he should have written -
      "On sky broadband it is not the package that influences your speed, just how much monthly usage you have, so being on unlimited will provide the top speed available, just the same as the lite package, but there is no limit to the usage allowance. "
      Hedgehog1979 likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (29-11-13)

    12. #10
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      No sky fibre

      That's exactly what I meant but you worded it better than myself 😄


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION