Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 66
    Like Tree3Likes

    No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My timeline so far for self install ordered 9th October Sky Hub dispatched 15th October activation letter arrived on 16th ...

    1. #21
      1downswing1's Avatar
      1downswing1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection-14e2o28.jpg


      My timeline so far for self install

      ordered 9th October
      Sky Hub dispatched 15th October
      activation letter arrived on 16th October (activation will be 22nd October)
      Sky Hub delivered on 17th October as i type

      So now to wait till 22nd will keep you updated on self install speed etc

      re read the letter says this

      Your sky broadband will be up and running By 22/10/13 midnight

      on the back of the letter it says

      sky fibre unlimited effective from 22/10/13


      does this mean it could be switched on anytime upto 22/10

      or it will be switched on the 22/10

      yours confused
      Last edited by 1downswing1; 17-10-13 at 01:30 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      mrbish82's Avatar
      mrbish82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      "effective from 22/10/13" sounds like the 22nd onwards to me, with midnight being the latest.

      How did they send the hub out to you? Was it courier or royal mail?

    4. #23
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      I would think sometime ON the 22/10
      Scubbie likes this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #24
      1downswing1's Avatar
      1downswing1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by mrbish82 View Post
      "effective from 22/10/13" sounds like the 22nd onwards to me, with midnight being the latest.

      How did they send the hub out to you? Was it courier or royal mail?

      thanks both it does say on top of the box do not setup till 22nd October lol

      it was Parcelforce and Sky sent me a tracking number about an hour before it was delivered via text lol

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      There have been cases where ADSL has been connected up to three days before the due date. This could possibly happen with fibre with self install. It depends when the engineer actives the connection in the cabinet. If you do not have broadband at present it would do no harm to plug your router in a couple of days before the 22nd.

      As you have Sky ADSL at the moment it would do no harm to plug in the Hub now. It should connect to your ADSL connection then switch to Fibre when it is activated.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      1downswing1's Avatar
      1downswing1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There have been cases where ADSL has been connected up to three days before the due date. This could possibly happen with fibre with self install. It depends when the engineer actives the connection in the cabinet. If you do not have broadband at present it would do no harm to plug your router in a couple of days before the 22nd.

      As you have Sky ADSL at the moment it would do no harm to plug in the Hub now. It should connect to your ADSL connection then switch to Fibre when it is activated.
      That was going to be my next question think i will give it a shot and see what happens

    8. #27
      1downswing1's Avatar
      1downswing1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      All setup and logged in just cant access the router settings just a blank page

      http://192.168.0.1/start.htm

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      I get a blank page with that too. Try this one-
      http://192.168.0.1/sky_index.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      1downswing1's Avatar
      1downswing1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I get a blank page with that too. Try this one-
      http://192.168.0.1/sky_index.html
      yep thats it in now thanks also the speed is slower not much but slower non the less

      also admin/sky pass wont work on IE only on chrome

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: No Engineer to setup New Fibre connection

      The default user details are the same as always, admin and sky. Try using another browser see if that helps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION