Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Long line, should I switch to fiber?

    This is a discussion on Long line, should I switch to fiber? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I currently have LLU ADSL and am synced at 6775kbs, the checker says I can now get fibre but with ...

    1. #1
      bedrock's Avatar
      bedrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDTTCHF
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Fareham
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      I currently have LLU ADSL and am synced at 6775kbs, the checker says I can now get fibre but with an estimated speed of 8.8mb is it worth changing, is the estimate speed reliable, I would hate to switch and find the FTTC based connection is slower

      Not convinced it's worth paying the extra for such a little gain, thoughts...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      I wouldn't switch for such a small increase.

      Unfortunately, you must be a long way from the fibre cabinet as well as the exchange.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      That seems very low for fibre, I would check again. I am further from my cabinet than the cabinet is from the exchange, but I still get an estimate of 22Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      There are two ways around this at the present time:


      • BTO fit the equipment in the Fibre cabinet to allow ADSL2+ to run from the cabinet
      • Get FTTP On Demand


      Both are possible, but currently unlikely. FTTP On Demand would be extremely expensive to install for such a long line.

      As for fitting the kit in the Fibre cabinet, this is possible and included in their original plans, but I am not aware of it being done anywhere.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      bedrock's Avatar
      bedrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDTTCHF
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Fareham
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      @scubbie, i don't really understand either of the options you have suggested. Is there something I can do, or you simply saying BTO have future plans for people like me?

      @isitme, I've checked and double checked, BTO's checker is estimating a whopping 8.9mb for FTTC for my phone number.

      If it helps i have a downstream attenuation of 40.5db currently on my ADSL (2+ I think its O2 LLU)

      Long line, should I switch to fiber?-bto.jpg

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      The kit to which your copper line is connected to in the telephone exchange belongs to Sky. A small version of BTO's kit (it would be too much to house all the LLU provider's kit) can be housed in a fibre cabinet. This would mean that you can have an ADSL2+ line starting from the Fibre cabinet instead of the telephone exchange.

      The providers would have to work out who runs what and who can have access, but it is technically possible.

      As for FTTP On Demand, basically this is a Fibre cable all the way from your telephone exchange to your home, via the Fibre cabinet. Currently BTO are offering the following connection speeds via this option:

      Down mb/Up mb
      40/10
      80/20
      110/20
      220,20
      330/30

      Some of the issues with this option are:

      • BTO are not offering to all the exchanges at the moment. The nearest exchange to you is Basingstoke
      • You will need to pay for the installation costs (unless the ISP does) for connecting up between the Fibre cabinet and your home. This will be several hundred or even over a thousand pounds in your case, due to being a long distance from the cabinet. In my case it would most likely be around 500.


      You can see some of the prices that BTO charge the ISPs here: Price List

      For a list of which exchanges are now able to offer FTTP on Demand, please take a look at this article: thinkbroadband :: Fibre on Demand footprint starts to grow

      Although Sky did launch some testing of FTTP, they have yet to launch a product based on this technology. Other ISPs are able to supply this though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      The fact that you are getting 6775kbps and the chart says you can only get 3500 kbps on ADSL2+ means that it is not very accurate and this could apply to the Fibre estimate as well. Have you asked Sky or TalkTalk for an estimate? Sky are actually pricing themselves out of the market with the Fibre product.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky are actually pricing themselves out of the market with the Fibre product.
      That's a matter of opinion...

      There will be the race to the bottom again, people will then moan about the congestion and poor support blah blah, it's ADSL all over again.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      Sorry, its not, its a fact. TalkTalk are much cheaper for both their offerings and even Infinity is cheaper for the Pro version.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Long line, should I switch to fiber?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sorry, its not, its a fact. TalkTalk are much cheaper for both their offerings and even Infinity is cheaper for the Pro version.
      I'd not want to deal with the customer service from either...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION