Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By dholdi

    Changing to fibre, disconection time.

    This is a discussion on Changing to fibre, disconection time. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I am currently on SKY unlimited but with phone line still on BT , my exchange has just become ...

    1. #1
      ken0062's Avatar
      ken0062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanberis
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Changing to fibre, disconection time.

      Hi

      I am currently on SKY unlimited but with phone line still on BT, my exchange has just become live for SKY Fibre.

      If I upgrade to SKY fibre am I likely to experience any long disconnection period during the switchover.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Changing to fibre, disconection time.

      Individually the changeovers should take less than an hour each.
      So worst case you would be looking a couple of hours, I would expect less.
      Scubbie likes this.


    4. #3
      ken0062's Avatar
      ken0062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanberis
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing to fibre, disconection time.

      Excellent, looks like it is worth going for then.
      I was just a bit worried in case I was cut of for days or even weeks.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Changing to fibre, disconection time.

      The switch-over is a same-day service.

      The only times where there may be a gap between losing an ADSL connection and getting Sky Fibre is when switching from another provider. However when this happens most people have reported that they can use Sky's ADSL service. Since the routers which Sky have for Fibre will also work on ADSL, there isn't any problem with plugging the Sky router in.

      As Dave has said though, most upgrades are complete in under an hour.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Changing to fibre, disconection time.

      You might find that you have to sign up for Phone Rental before they will take your order for Fibre, but that is no big deal. Changing rental usually involves less than an hour downtime, then it can take a week to 10 days before your order for fibre can be accepted.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION