Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31
    Like Tree2Likes

    sky sr102

    This is a discussion on sky sr102 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi can anyone in the know advise me if the sr102 the black hub is being shipped. The reason I ...

    1. #1
      Lamplite1c's Avatar
      Lamplite1c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky sr102

      Hi can anyone in the know advise me if the sr102 the black hub is being shipped. The reason I wanted to find out, to cut a long story short the engineers who came on behalf of O.R had a few issues installing fibre took near on 3 hours to complete as they kept loosing our phone line. Eventually got the or modem connected but when opening the new sky hub it was cracked he said that they would get hold of sky to order a replacement. I then said about the data extention kit I was advised by sky I could have installed as the pc is in the office no where near the master socket. However the engineers said they have spent too long installing it also they haven't got akit in there van. He did say though the black router could be Used on the extention in the office as he done something to the wiring in the socket to enable this once he gets the sr102 ordered.

      Was I just being BS' d by the engineers it didn't sound right to me but at the end of the day I have a pc connecting to a broken hub thats over 5 meters and 4 walls away so as im sure you can imaging the connection isnt good at all.

      any help and advice would be greatly recieved
      regards
      robert


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky sr102

      The SR102 hasn't been launched yet (so you can't buy one yet) but it is being sent to selected customers who agree to take part in a customer trial of fibre broadband self-install.

      You'll probably have to contact Sky yourself to get a replacement SR101.

      The data extension kit is effectively a roll of two-pair ethernet cable carried in the van! It's not really a kit as such. They just cut a length of cable as required and make a cable to suit the installation.

      Was the master socket upgraded to include VDSL suitable faceplate something like this:
      http://www.clarity.it/vdsl_nte5_adaptor_faceplate.htm
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Personally I would suggest that you leave the BTO Modem where it is and fit your own Cat 5e Ethernet cable.

      If you aren't happy with DIY it should be something that a local contractor could do if required.

      Having done this, you could then place the Sky Hub SR101 i your office.

      Just in case though, if you have issues with the WiFi with out it is currently setup, you may wish to consider an alternative approach so that you can get an additional WiFi hotspot in the office, allowing the Sky Hub to provide a WiFi hotspot where it currently is. If this is something that you are interested in consider getting a WiFi Extender. With your issues I would go for the Ethernet cable to link the Sky Hub and the Extender together.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Lamplite1c's Avatar
      Lamplite1c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Hi thanks for the quick replies. The main socket in the lounge is like the one in the pic but the one in the office is just an extension from the master but its a direct feed from the master so if I wanted to put the black router he said he would request I would need to use the filter that came in the box to connect it up. As it looks like the only route is for me to buy some eithernet cable and diy it. I think ill be writing yo sky as this should in my opinion should have been done by the subcontractors grrr. Whats that saying if you want a job doing do it yourself. May consider the extender though but at it is on a speed test im only getting 17 meg at best so I think I would prefer to hard wire it.
      cheers
      robert

    6. #5
      Oakey22's Avatar
      Oakey22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      I received mine Monday from sky, and I am not doing a trial just normal joe blogs who wants fibre

      Comes with a sticker saying don't plug in till Friday when I presume Openreach or Sky will turn the connection on

    7. #6
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,037
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      I have been on the Sky SR102 beta trial, which has been running since Mid May.
      We have as with all sky beta trials, been under an NDA.
      But today we have been told today that we can now discuss openly about the hub.

      More later
      Last edited by lettice; 11-09-13 at 10:39 AM.
      Scubbie likes this.

    8. #7
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Yes that would be interesting. Presumably launch date must be near.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      I have been on the Sky SR102 beta trial, which has been running since Mid May.
      We have as with all sky beta trials, been under an NDA.
      But today we have been told today that we can now discuss openly about the hub.

      More later
      You will know by now the 'permission to discuss' has been withdrawn. Another case of Sky's right hand not knowing what the left is doing.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      As Itsme said, the permission has been withdrawn. I would say anything until this is clarified again later!

    11. #10
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,037
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Yes saw that in a later announcement, so we will all keep quiet for now.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION