Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31
    Like Tree2Likes

    sky sr102

    This is a discussion on sky sr102 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Someone on ebay recently sold their sr102 for a whopping 30!! I managed to flog my sr101 for 35!! Personally ...

    1. #21
      Masai's Avatar
      Masai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Someone on ebay recently sold their sr102 for a whopping 30!! I managed to flog my sr101 for 35!! Personally I'd rather have a seperate modem and router as restarting the router only wont upset the dlam.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky sr102

      Yes I agree with Masai, I think on balance I prefer to have separate devices (even though it's adds to the device inventory and blocks out yet another power socket!)

      I'm told that the Openreach modem sends a "dying gasp" message to the DSLAM when it is powered off/the power is cut. This is supposed to help the DLM process distinguish these events from other events indicating line instability.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #23
      Masai's Avatar
      Masai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      I was testing an eci modem i bought off ebay to see if it would give me more bandwidth compared to the huwai (spelling!) and my speed did not fluctuate at all. With the huwai i get 68mbps and with the eci i got 56 mbps. Had left the eci connected for over a week and rebooted my asus router every 2-3 days to see if it made any difference.

      Anyone want to buy an eci modem!?

    5. #24
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      sky sr102

      Personally, if Sky launch the SR102 later this year and call it breaking technology etc etc then it will be laughable. Wireless N has been round 7-8 years maybe longer, and with only 100ghz ports, it is just plain dated. So what and when will the SR103 have?

      The scam is the normal Sky customers will be buying them as an upgrade!

      John


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    6. #25
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Wireless N has been round 7-8 years maybe longer, and with only 100ghz ports, it is just plain dated. So what and when will the SR103 have?
      The wireless N protocol was only officially ratified 4 years ago. 11th September 2009. There were products based on the draft spec before then but they couldn't official be called a wireless N compliant until they were certified by the Wifi Alliance certification program after 30th September 2009.

    7. #26
      CBG's Avatar
      CBG
      CBG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522 - Lincoln - (SLBWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Virgin Media
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Lincoln, UK
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky sr102

      Does the SR102 have the same port setup as the SR101, or does it have an extra ethernet socket, like a cable router has?
      Regards,
      CBG (Garry)

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Quote Originally Posted by CBG View Post
      Does the SR102 have the same port setup as the SR101, or does it have an extra ethernet socket, like a cable router has?
      No it has 4 ethernet ports, same as the 101.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      The wireless N protocol was only officially ratified 4 years ago. 11th September 2009. There were products based on the draft spec before then but they couldn't official be called a wireless N compliant until they were certified by the Wifi Alliance certification program after 30th September 2009.
      I bow to your expert knowledge. Just thinking i had my Belkin MIMO router which works perfecr 7-8 months ago.
      So has wireless AC been ratified? It has stilll been out over 12 months?

      John

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: sky sr102

      So has wireless AC been ratified? It has stilll been out over 12 months?
      No, the final ratification for the AC standard is not expected till November 2014. The wireless N standard was not approved till September 2009, although Draft N devices were sold years before that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      Lamplite1c's Avatar
      Lamplite1c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Finally think ive got it sorted. Had to do it my way though. Sky still havent sent the replacement hub so had to buy one from ebay at a cost of 57 ouch but constant emails to sky about this is getting me no where had been told on the phone that they woupd arrange one to be sent out but still nothing two months later. I do have a question however when I get the sr102 will I need to ring sky to attach the hubs mac code to my broadband account?

      All help greatfully recieved

      Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk now Free

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION