Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Monitoring my connection

    This is a discussion on Monitoring my connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello All, I suspect I have an issue with my Fibre connection. I have Solar Panels and the Invertor is ...

    1. #1
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Monitoring my connection

      Hello All,


      I suspect I have an issue with my Fibre connection.

      I have Solar Panels and the Invertor is connected to the internet - at 8:31 to 8:23 this morning there is a break in the Graph. (No Internet to send the Data)

      A few days ago around Midnight , I was on my Ipad connected via WIFI , when for 10-15 minutes it wouldn't load any page , update facebook etc , I confirmed the Disconnection by looking at my Galaxy S4 (Connected by WiFi) to see I'm still connected to Sky Hub With WiFi , however I had been Signed out from skype , 15 minutes later connection had been regained - Traffic was Back on my Internet.

      That Morning I Checked the Invertor Graphs to see if it had disconnected from the internet at the same time as my Ipad? It had

      Phoned Sky - They have sent a SR101 - However According to the Graphs Im Still getting the disconnections , Spoken to the Invertor Company - There are no issues there end.

      The routers uptime does not reset when this happens

      I have tried f8lure Graphs etc - but has my IP is reponding to the requests its not showing anything.

      Is there any Program that I Can install on my Laptop that Can "Monitor" the connection? I had thought about leaving Teamspeak Running connected to a TS Server on my Laptop and leaving it running for a few days.

      Any Ideas on how i can monitor the connection?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Monitoring my connection

      There are 2 that spring to mind, Thinkbroadband's Quality monitor and Routerstats. Have a look here -
      thinkbroadband :: Broadband Quality Monitor

      and here
      Internet Software

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Monitoring my connection

      Update for you all

      Phoned sky back as it was still doing it after the new Sky Hub was installed.

      Sky did a line test - it Failed - My Line has been profiled wrong - BT OpenReach to Fix the issue within 24 hours

      - - - Updated - - -

      Update for you all

      Phoned sky back as it was still doing it after the new Sky Hub was installed.

      Sky did a line test - it Failed - My Line has been profiled wrong - BT OpenReach to Fix the issue within 24 hours

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Monitoring my connection

      BT OpenReach to Fix the issue within 24 hours
      Don't hold your breath.

      Let's hope they find the problem and fix it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Monitoring my connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Don't hold your breath.

      Let's hope they find the problem and fix it.
      Don't know why i put 24 hours - was ment to read 72 hours

    7. #6
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Monitoring my connection

      You might want to get a SamKnows whitebox. It's a neat way of keeping an eye on the performance of your connection. Easy to spot any degradation of throughput speeds, to get an early warning that something has gone wrong.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #7
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Monitoring my connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
      I have tried f8lure Graphs etc - but has my IP is reponding to the requests its not showing anything.
      F8lure pings from a windows server and also a firebrick if your IP is responding then either it's pinging the wrong IP (Possible if your IP has recently changed and f8lure has not been updated) or infact your line is indeed up and it's your router being crap.

      It does pretty much the same thing as the TBB monitor

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION