Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
    Results 61 to 68 of 68
    Like Tree29Likes

    Sky Fibre install diary

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre install diary within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme I would not put too much trust in Speedtest.net, especially the server you are using. I ...

    1. #61
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I would not put too much trust in Speedtest.net, especially the server you are using. I think some of the London servers are set up for Fibre speeds and are supposed to be more accurate. One of our fibre members may point you to one.
      I used to get terrible speed test results to London servers when on Virgin's 100Mb service but that might be more down to bad peering connections between Scotland and the south of England on their network, sometimes east coast USA was better than London!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      AaronYuri's Avatar
      AaronYuri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bargoed
      Broadband ISP: BB Un (soon to be Fibre Pro)
      Router: Netgear DGN3500
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Right. I didn't get the Cisco iOS dialler config reference, but I thought they were interesting because (brief as they are) they seem to be of the opinion that an MTU of 1500 is not necessarily bad on fibre. But perhaps I'm reading too much into it. I'm gazing at my coat (in case I need to get it... )
      Cisco iOS is router firmware/software for (mostly) complex network purposes. You know the routers that tie the whole Internet's infrastructure together? They are most likely Cisco or Juniper routers. Extremely flexible pieces of kit. Damn expensive too!

      Anyway, my VDSL is up-and-running beautifully. Wires only install wasn't that bad, just a pity I had to get a VDSL faceplate myself, despite paying the same 50 as everyone else.


      Sky SR102 for VDSL & DGN3500 providing gigabit LAN and 802.11n.

    4. #63
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Quote Originally Posted by AaronYuri View Post
      Cisco iOS is router firmware/software for (mostly) complex network purposes. You know the routers that tie the whole Internet's infrastructure together? They are most likely Cisco or Juniper routers. Extremely flexible pieces of kit. Damn expensive too!

      Anyway, my VDSL is up-and-running beautifully. Wires only install wasn't that bad, just a pity I had to get a VDSL faceplate myself, despite paying the same 50 as everyone else.

      Yes I'm familiar with Cisco routers & IOS (not to be confused with iOS which is Apple's mobile operating system) from my CCNA training.

      My point was that I didn't see the articles as being specific to any particular kit.

      Anyway I'm pleased to hear that your install went well, and it's all up and running to your satisfaction.

      My coat is on and I'm slinking out of the building...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #64
      AaronYuri's Avatar
      AaronYuri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bargoed
      Broadband ISP: BB Un (soon to be Fibre Pro)
      Router: Netgear DGN3500
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Old habits die hard. It's very rarely I write IOS on a forum. Junos even less often! Only completed a CCENT myself and that was god knows when. I work with proprietary UC products and servers more than anything else. I hate networking with an indescribable passion.

      Anyway, gents, my next posts will probably be when BTO start pushing out FTTP. See you all in a couple years time...


      Sky SR102 for VDSL & DGN3500 providing gigabit LAN and 802.11n.

    6. #65
      Steele11's Avatar
      Steele11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      49
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Does this have a light sensor so it might time it doesn't light up whole room up Like a baby monitor ? new sr102

    7. #66
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      No, but the lights are not that bright.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #67
      shashu11's Avatar
      shashu11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Hi, I'm getting a Sky SR102 hub for my fibre install in the next few weeks.

      Can I ditch the SR102 and buy myself a separate VDSL modem and a separate router?

      Thanks

    9. #68
      Arec's Avatar
      Arec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFGN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Yes. You can do it.
      On eBay probably you can find BT VDSL modem for a good price.
      Then connect it to router of your choose. Router must be compatible with Sky auth. List you can find here http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...sky-fibre.html
      And last you have to do is extract login and password from your SR102.

     

     
    Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION